Ole Miss To Rename Coliseum Drive, Chucky Mullins Drive

Ole Miss will honor the late Chucky Mullins during the Ole Miss-Memphis football weekend.
Sept. 19, 2014

OXFORD, Miss. - The Ole Miss athletic department will honor the life and legacy of former Ole Miss football player Chucky Mullins during the Ole Miss-Memphis football weekend (Sept. 26-27).  The late Mullins, who was paralyzed on the football field in 1989 and died in 1991, is being honored on the 25th anniversary of the injury and will be inducted posthumously into the M-Club Hall of Fame.   

"We are extremely blessed to be influenced by the life and values of Chucky Mullins each and every day," said Ole Miss athletic director Ross Bjork.  "The impact he made during his time at Ole Miss and now in his after-life, is without measure.  Chucky continues to serve as a spiritual hero and a rallying point for the passion, spirit and energy that defines the university."

In addition to Mullins' induction into the M-Club Hall of Fame, Ole Miss will rename Coliseum Drive, which connects Hwy 6 with the Ole Miss campus,  "Chucky Mullins Drive". The dedication ceremony will take place on Friday, Sept. 26, at the Law School Courtyard. All previous winners of the Chucky Mullins Courage Award have been invited back for the festivities. RSVP appreciated by emailing Christine Wallace at cswallac@olemiss.edu.

"It has been said by others, that anyone who crossed Chucky's path, did not leave the same and we are truly humbled to honor him with the naming of Chucky Mullins Drive," said Bjork.  "Ole Miss is a feeling that never leaves and now we have a permanent path that will blaze a trail with Chucky's energetic spirit for generations to come." 

The Ole Miss football team will also honor Mullins by wearing commemorative helmets with Mullins' number 38 on them. All former Chucky Mullins Courage Award winners, along with the newest members of the M-Club Hall of Fame, will be recognized on field at the Ole Miss-Memphis football game on Saturday (Sept. 27).  

The Chucky Mullins ceremony and M-Club Hall of Fame Induction will culminate a week of Racial Reconciliation activities on the Ole Miss campus. For the second consecutive year, the Ole Miss athletics department and The William Winter Institute partnered to sponsor a week of events dedicated to promoting racial equity and encouraging dialogue on the topic. 

In addition to the renaming of Coliseum Drive, the first on-campus screening of the "SEC Storied: It's Time - Chucky Mullins" will take place on Thursday (Sept. 25) at 6 p.m. at Weems Auditorium at the Law School.

"Chucky means so much to our university, and on the 25th anniversary of his tragic accident, it's fitting that we honor his legacy in this very special way," said head football coach Hugh Freeze.  "I'm excited that students and fans for years to come will drive down his street, know his name and hopefully realize his heart and spirit."

Each year, the Rebel football team awards the Chucky Mullins Courage Award, which is presented to a defensive captain who shows as much heart and passion as Mullins did both on and off the field. That player wears No. 38 in Mullins' memory. Senior Deterrian Shackelford has held the honor the last two years and is the first player to earn the distinction twice.  

"We are excited to welcome Carver and Karen Phillips, Chucky's teammates and all the Chucky Mullins Courage Award winners back to Ole Miss," said Bjork.  "Nothing could be more symbolic than Chucky Mullins Drive and number 38 will continue to live on in the hearts and minds of the entire Ole Miss family."

Recipients are presented the award at the annual Chucky Mullins Courage Award banquet. Each award recipient receives a framed Mullins jersey and has the honor of wearing Mullins' No. 38 on the field the following season. In 2006, the number was officially retired, joining Archie Manning's No. 18 as the only retied numbers in Ole Miss football history. Award winners wore a patch instead of the No. 38 jersey from 2006-2010. In 2011, the decision was made to keep the jersey retired and have the No. 38 only worn by the Chucky Mullins Courage Award winner each year.

Additionally, as part of the weekend's festivities funds will be raised for the Chucky Mullins Scholarship, which is awarded each year to students who either have a physical handicap or who have exceptional financial need. Over the last 10 years, 130 students have received the award.

Mullins headlines a group of six outstanding individuals that will be inducted into the M-Club Hall of Fame. This year's honorees include: Julie Link Clark (volleyball, 1983-86), Armintie Price Herrington (basketball, 2003-07), Burney Hutchinson (baseball, 1999-2002), Ken Lucas (football, 1997-2000) and Chip Sullivan (golf, 1984-86).

The M-Club Alumni Chapter will also recognize former football player Larry Johnson (1961-63) with its Lotterhos Service Award. Established in 2008, this award is based on leadership, dedication, service and commitment to the M-Club. 
The Chapter will host the annual M-Club Hall of Fame and Service Award Reception and Banquet for this year's recipients on Friday, Sept. 26. The event will be held at The Inn at Ole Miss in the Gertrude C. Ford Ballroom. The reception begins at 6 p.m., with dinner to follow at 7 p.m. 

Seating is limited and reservations are required for the M-Club Fame and Service Award Reception and Banquet. Please make your reservation by Sept. 19, via the Alumni Association's website.

Chucky Mullins Courage Award Winners:
1990-Chris Mitchell
1991-Jeff Carter
1992-Trea Southerland
1993-Johnny Dixon
1994-Alundis Brice
1995-Michael Lowery
1996-Derek Jones
1997-Nate Wayne
1998-Gary Thigpen
1999-Ronnie Heard
2000-Anthony Magee
2001-Kevin Thomas
2002-Lanier Goethie
2003-Jamil Northcutt
2004-Eric Oliver
2005-Kelvin Robinson
2006-Patrick Willis
2007-Jeremy Garrett
2008-Jamarca Sanford
2009-Marcus Tillman
2010-Kentrell Lockett
2011-Deterrian Shackleford
2012-Jason Jones
2013-Mike Marry
2014-Deterrian Shackleford





  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago