Rebels' Choice Awards Handed Out

OXFORD, Miss. -- For the second year, the red carpet was rolled out for Ole Miss student-athletes at the 2012 Rebels’ Choice Awards.  

The semi-formal event took place in the Gertrude C. Ford Center for Performing Arts and honored athletics achievements from the past year.  With Rebel student-athletes and staff dressed to the nines, the evening began on the red carpet before the show kicked off.

In all, 17 different honors were handed out on the evening to Ole Miss student-athletes.  Of the awards, 14 were selected by the Ole Miss Student-Athlete Advisory Committee, while three were selected via fan voting.  

Track and Field was the big winner on the night, capturing women’s Rookie of the Year (Fabia McDonald), men’s Most Valuable Player (Ricky Robertson), men’s and women’s Coach of the Year (Joe Walker), and men’s and women’s teams of the year.  

The women’s Most Valuable Player Award went to basketball standout Valencia McFarland, while men’s basketball star Terrance Henry was chosen as the Fan Favorite.  The complete list of award recipients is listed below.

Emceed once again by ESPN announcer Clay Matvick, the awards ceremony included video highlights from the past year and a performance by the Soultones featuring Effie Burt.

The awards show was part of Ole Miss' festivities for National Student-Athlete Day, which is celebrated during the month of April.

Men’s Rookie of the Year:  Jarvis Summers, basketball
Women’s Rookie of the Year: Fabia McDonald, track and field
Men’s Community Service Outreach: D.T. Shackelford, football
Women’s Community Service Outreach: Gabby Rangel, tennis
Men’s Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Chad Bounds, golf
Women’s Scholar Athlete of the Year: Dylan Jordan, soccer
Men’s Hotty Toddy (Spirit) Award: Jason Jones, football
Women’s Hotty Toddy (Spirit) Award: Morgan Springer, volleyball
Men’s Coach of the Year: Joe Walker, track and field
Women’s Coach of the Year: Joe Walker, track and field
Men’s Most Valuable Player: Ricky Robertson, track and field
Women’s Most Valuable Player: Valencia McFarland, basketball
Men’s Team of the Year: track and field
Women’s Team of the Year: track and field

Play of the Year:  Katie Breathitt’s record-setting steeplechase
Game of the Year:  Baseball defeats defending national champion South Carolina
Fan Favorite: Terrance Henry, men’s basketball

Ole Miss Athletics Media Relations
March 26, 2012