Blazing Men’s 1500-Meter Highlights Day One of Joe Walker Invite
April 13, 2018

Photo Gallery 

Results | Highlights | Photos | Preview & Links


Due to incoming inclement weather, the start of the women’s heptathlon tomorrow has been pushed back one hour to 10:45 a.m. CT

– The Rebel middle-distance runners put on a show to wrap up the first day of action at the 2018 Joe Walker Invite on Friday.

Under the lights at the Ole Miss Track & Field Complex, the Ole Miss distance squad went full-force for the first time this outdoor season, and they did not disappoint.

In the men’s 1500-meter race, the Rebels tallied five times that should be in the running for the final NCAA East Region qualifying list – all against each other in the third and final heat. Senior Derek Gutierrez ran unattached as the rabbit and got the Rebels off to the right start they needed, running the first 1200 meters of the race like clockwork at 3:00 (58, 1:02, 1:00) before stepping off the track.

Senior NCAA Champion Robert Domanic took the reins from there over the final 300 meters, leading the Rebels across the line at 3:42.32 – currently the best time in the SEC, as well as the second-best in the East Region and eighth-best in all of the NCAA. Fellow NCAA Champion Sean Tobin was right behind him at 3:42.82 (third SEC, fourth East Region, 11th NCAA), as was freshman Cade Bethmann at a huge career-opening time of 3:44.56 (ninth all-time, sixth SEC, 12th East Region, 23rd NCAA).

Other likely regional times came from fourth and fifth place from senior Trevor Gilley (3:44.81; sixth SEC, 12th East, 23rd NCAA) and sophomore Parker Scott (3:45.42; 12th SEC, 21st East, 37th NCAA).

Tonight’s performance puts Ole Miss on the national scale when it comes to 1500-meter depth, nearly taking over the USTFCCCA #EventSquad rankings – which calculate the best top-four average in each event per school in Division I. Entering this week, Oregon led the nation in the 1500 at a total time of 14:48.9 (3:42.23 average), but tonight’s top-down effort from the Rebels takes over the No. 2 spot at a total time of 14:54.51 (3:43.63 average).

The Rebel women’s 1500-meter was similarly stacked, with senior Kat MacNeal running a season-best 4:27.20 to win and lead a young Ole Miss crew to some fast times. Directly following her were freshmen Ylva Traxler (4:30.07, 12th all-time), Clio Ozanne-Jaques (4:30.80, 13th all-time) and Lisa Vogelgesang (4:31.43, 14th all-time).

Ole Miss played a similar game in the women’s 200-meter dash, where senior Shannon Ray flew for a season-best 23.59 en route to victory. That time is a season-best by nearly a half-second, and it puts her at No. 32 in the East Region. Rebels occupied each of the top-five spots, as Ray was followed by fellow seniors Nicole Henderson (second, 23.97), Jolie Carbo (24.03, PR) and Mercedes Mattix in fourth (24.50, PR), with sophomore Jeanette Paul in fifth at 24.54.

Freshman Allen Gordon continued his torrid pace as of late, claiming a win in the long jump today at another solid leap of 7.44m (24-05.00). Manny Foster took runner-up honors less than two inches behind Gordon at 7.41m (24-03.75).

Sophomore Kaira Simmons also finished runner-up in the women’s long jump at a near season-best of 5.96m (19-06.75).

In the women’s hammer, senior Janeah Stewart was the top collegiate finisher at 66.05m (216-08). Freshman Shey Taiwo also made the final, finishing sixth at a PR of 56.38m (185-00), the sixth-best throw all-time and 46th-best in the East Region. Ole Miss volunteer coach Jeneva Stevens of New York Athletic Club won at a season-best 70.05m (229-10), currently the fourth-best throw in the United States.

Grad transfer Cullen Prena took runner-up honors in the men’s hammer as well, coming within three feet of this season-best at 59.77m (196-01). Freshman Chris Long, meanwhile, took fifth at a two-foot PR of 50.16m (164-07) – improving on his place in 10th all-time at Ole Miss.

The Rebel heptathletes were also at it again on Friday, with sophomore Kieshonna Brooks putting together a strong first day of action. Just one week after breaking her own national record in her native Saint Kitts and Nevis at 4,988 points, Brooks leads the heptathlon after the first day at 3,108 points, with three events left to go on Saturday.

Brooks won the 100-meter hurdles at a big two-tenth PR of 13.79 seconds (eighth all-time), and she also won the 200-meter dash at a near-PR of 25.13. Brooks was the runner-up in the shot put at a PR toss of 11.14m (36-06.75), and she took fifth in the high jump at 1.50m (4-11.00).

Freshman Ghania Warren sits in third at 3,051 points after PRs in the high jump (third, 1.59m/5-02.50) and shot put (seventh, 8.79m/28-10.25).

Action will resume at 10:45 a.m. CT on Saturday, which is one hour later than originally scheduled due to impending inclement weather.

Day One Heptathlon:

1. Kieshonna Brooks – 3,108

3. Ghania Warren – 3,051

8. Haley Hood – 2,422

Heptathlon 100-Meter Hurdles:

1. Kieshonna Brooks – 13.79 – PR, 8th all-time

5. Ghania Warren – 15.34

8. Haley Hood – 16.04

Heptathlon High Jump:

3. Ghania Warren – 1.59m (5-02.50) – PR

4. Haley Hood – 1.53m (5-00.25)

5. Kieshonna Brooks – 1.50m (4-11.00)

Heptathlon Shot Put:

2. Kieshonna Brooks – 11.14m (36-06.75) – PR

7. Ghania Warren – 8.79m (28-10.25) – PR

8. Haley Hood – 8.49m (27-10.25) – SB

Heptathlon 200-Meter Dash:

1. Kieshonna Brooks – 25.13

3. Ghania Warren – 26.76

6. Haley Hood – 28.05


Women’s 200-Meter Dash:

7. Porsha Shirley – 24.68 (-2.9)

9. Orianna Shaw – 24.79 (-2.9) – PR

11. Jasmin Allen – 24.90 (-2.9)

14. Aisha Newsome – 25.41 (0.3)

Men’s 200-Meter Dash:

8. Andrew Raspo – 21.86

11. Alvin Westbrook – 22.14 – PR

Women’s 1500-Meter:

5. Emily Bean – 4:32.44

6. Hannah Christen – 4:36.41

8. Maddy Nikkel – 4:38.60

9. Anna Elkin – 4:39.03

10. Maddie King – 4:40.61

11. Victoria Simmons – 4:42.67

13. Chelsea Drum – 4:53.07

Men’s 1500-Meter:

10. Michael Coccia – 3:55.27

11. Brandon Harvey – 3:55.97

12. Mark Robertson – 3:57.87

13. Ben Savino – 3:58.48

14. Taylor Caldwell – 3:59.26

Men’s Pole Vault:

2. Peyton Weissmann – 4.90m (16-00.75)

5. Austin Garrett – 4.45m (14-07.25)

Women’s Hammer:

7. Annika Larsson – 54.05m (177-04) – SB

8. Kendall Chavarria – 51.71m (169-08)

13. Leah Klein – 46.56m (152-09) – PR, 13th all-time

For more information on Ole Miss Track & Field and Cross Country, follow the Rebels on Twitter (@OleMissTrack), Facebook and Instagram.






  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago