Ole Miss Men Finish Second at Greater Louisville Classic
Robert Domanic (photo by Jeff Cutright)
Oct. 4, 2014



The Ole Miss men's cross country team finished second in the Greater Louisville Classic on Saturday, besting 12 regionally ranked teams and all three SEC teams competing.

"I'm proud of the way we performed," Ole Miss head coach Brian O'Neal said. "It's really good to see the quality of depth we have. We're looking for big things out of this team and today was a step in the right direction."

Junior Wes Gallagher led Ole Miss in his first event as a Rebel. The Northeastern transfer clocked a time of 24:00.74 in the 8K, good for seventh overall.

Sophomore Robert Domanic, also competing for the first time on the season, placed second for the Rebels and 22nd overall with a time of 24:36.88.

The Rebels placed six runners in the top 33. Freshman Sean Tobin finished 26th with a time of 24:41.08, senior Daniel Bulmer 30th at 24:41.99, freshman Mark Robertson 31st at 24:42.19 and freshman Taylor Caldwell 33rd at 24:44.21.

The Ole Miss women placed 17th overall in the 5K race. Freshman Shelby Brown turned in a time 18:10.51 to pace the Rebels.

Brown has progressed in each meet, running a faster 5K in each. She's shaved 38.82 seconds from her opening meet time.

"We were right where I thought we would be along with the Big 10, ACC and SEC powerhouse teams, particularily with our top two runners on the women's side," O'Neal said. "Some of our younger runners stepped up in the absence of our leadership, and it should help give us more balance as we get ready for the SEC Championships."

Ole Miss races again on Oct. 18 in Terra Haute, Indiana at the Pre-National Invitational.


MEN (8K)

7. Wes Gallagher (24:00.74)

22. Robert Domanic (24:36.88)

26. Sean Tobin (24:41.08)

30. Daniel Bulmer (24:41.99)

31. Mark Robertson (24:42.19)

33. Taylor Caldwell (24:44.21)

64. Ian Carter (25:10.57)

66. Trevor Gilley (25:12.31)

86. Arman Rehmann (25:27.05)

99. John Dalton Rohr (25:33.23)

107. Mark Shaw (25:37.00)

166. Derek Gutierrez (26:13.97)


71. Shelby Brown (18:10.51)

89. Leanne Zimmer (18:16.24)

93. Elisabeth Gaillet (18:17.95)

127. Saga Barzowski (18:32.22)

133. Margaret Harkness (18:35.73)

134. Madison Rawson (18:36.28)

159. Emily Bean (18:50.19)

171. Kat MacNeal (18:55.96)

186. Scarlett Fox (19:03.49)




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago