Rebels' Runner-Up Finish Ties Best SEC XC Finish in Program History
Wesley Gallagher placed third to lead the Rebels at the 2014 SEC Cross Country Championships (photo by David Christy)

2014 SEC XC Men's Results Get Acrobat Reader | 2014 SEC XC Women's Results Get Acrobat Reader | Photo Gallery

TUSCALOOSA, Ala. - The Ole Miss men's cross country team raced to a runner-up finish at the SEC Championships on Friday, tying the 1968 second-place result as the best in program history. The Rebels finished just six points behind SEC Champion Arkansas.

Junior Wesley Gallagher finished third overall in the 8K (24:21.28) to lead the Rebels. The Pembroke, Massachusetts, native is the third Rebel in program history to earn a top-three finish at an SEC Championship and the first since Barnabas Kirui won the SEC title in 2010.

Freshman Sean Tobin (24:37.91) and sophomore Robert Domanic (24:38.50) clocked in at sixth and seventh, respectively, to propel Ole Miss to the historic finish.

The Rebels placed six runners in the top 29. Freshman Taylor Caldwell (25:02.17) finished 19th, freshman Mark Robertson (25:11.41) placed 25th and sophomore Trevor Gilley (25:20.63) was 29th.

"I'm extremely proud of our athletes and the way they competed," Ole Miss head coach Brian O'Neal said. "For most of our young men, it was their first opportunity to compete at the SEC Championships. We talk a lot about what it means to represent the red and blue of Ole Miss and today I feel we ran with great pride and passion. We knew we would have to run flawlessly to win the championships and I thought we did, but just came up a little short. I'd like to congratulate Coach Chris Bucknam and the Arkansas Razorback cross country team for capturing this year's SEC Cross Country Championship. They have a rich tradition in cross country and today they were the best team."

Gallagher, Tobin and Domanic earned All-SEC first team honors by placing among the top seven finishers. Three All-SEC selections are the most in program history.

"Gallagher, Tobin and Domanic have led this team all season long," O'Neal said. "Being named a first team All-SEC selection is a great reward for all of the hard work these young men have put in. They are great competitors who are proud to represent Ole Miss and have taken their efforts to another level to help propel this team to be in the running for a championship."

Tobin's time was the fastest for any freshman on Friday, earning him All-Freshman team honors as well. Caldwell and Robertson joined him on the All-Freshman team, marking the most Rebels on the All-Freshman team in program history, as well.

"I'm proud of the way the freshmen have come in and contributed to our success immediately," O'Neal said. "They committed to coming here because they believed in us and the vision of where this program is headed. We couldn't be more proud of them."

The Ole Miss women finished 12th in the 6K race. Senior Margaret Harkness led the way at 54th overall with a time of 21:32.18. Freshman Shelby Brown finished right behind her at 55th with a time of 21:32.95.

The women were missing several runners due to injuries.

The NCAA South Regional is up next for Ole Miss in Tallahassee, Florida, on Nov. 14. The men are currently ranked second in the USTFCCCA South Region. The top two teams at the regional automatically advance to the NCAA Championships.


MEN (8K)

3. Wesley Gallagher (24:21.28)
6. Sean Tobin (24:37.91)
7. Robert Domanic (24:38.50)
19. Taylor Caldwell (25:02.17)
25. Mark Robertson (25:11.41)
29. Trevor Gilley (25:20.63)
50. Daniel Bulmer (25:47.09)
58. Ian Carter (25:56.81)
70. Derek Gutierrez (26:15.03)
78. John Dalton Rohr (26:21.65)


54. Margaret Harkness (21:32.18)
55. Shelby Brown (21:32.95)
62. Leanne Zimmer (21:39.95)
67. Madison Rawson (21:49.71)
70. Saga Barzowski (21:52.57)
73. Elisabeth Gaillet (21:55.54)
98. Emily Bean (22:35.95)
107. Katherine MacNeal (22:56.22)





  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago