Ole Miss Runs No. 1 NCAA Time in Men's DMR
Feb. 18, 2017

WINSTON-SALEM, N.C. -- Ole Miss' Ryan Manahan, Nick DeRay, Craig Engels and Sean Tobin had one goal on Saturday: to run a fast-enough distance medley relay to qualify for the NCAA Indoor Championships.

They did that, and then some.

The Rebel quartet scorched the JDL Fast Track to win the UCS Invitational with a flat-track converted time of 9:26.55 (converted from 9:34.24), which is the No. 1 mark in the NCAA this year.

"It was great to secure our qualification for NCAAs in the DMR," said Ryan Vanhoy, who coaches the Rebel distance runners. "That was our only goal coming into the weekend and the sole purpose for our trip here to the JDL Fast Track. Now we'll turn our focus to the championship season and get ready to finish on a high note."

Manahan ran the leadoff 1200-meter leg, followed by DeRay for the 400-meter leg, Engels for the 800-meter part and the closer, Tobin, on the 1600-meter leg. Ole Miss defeated Arkansas by three-and-a-half seconds. The Razorbacks were followed closely by Villanova. Those two squads ran the fifth- and sixth-fastest times in the country this year.

The top 12-ranked relay squads in the country after the conclusion of all the conference meets will advance to the NCAA Championships. Ole Miss placed third in the DMR at the NCAAs last year, its best result in school history.

The raw time of 9:34.24 ranks the unit No. 2 in school history behind the record of 9:30.48 at last year's Penn State National by Robert Domanic, Manahan, Engels and Tobin. In fact, the top four indoor DMR times in school history have all been run within the last two seasons. Ole Miss is the three-time defending Southeastern Conference champion in the event.

Next up is the SEC Indoor Championships, which will be contested Feb. 24-25 in Nashville, Tennessee.

For more information on Ole Miss Track & Field, follow the Rebels on Twitter (@OleMissTrack), Facebook and Instagram.






  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago