Eight Rebels Earn Indoor Track & Field All-SEC Honors
Ryan Walling (photo by Petre Thomas)
March 1, 2016

OXFORD, Miss. – Ole Miss’ historic performance at the 2016 Southeastern Conference Indoor Track & Field Championships resulted in eight Rebels earning All-SEC honors.

The six Rebels that helped Ole Miss claim a school-record five event titles achieved first team All-SEC status. They are Robert Domanic (men’s mile champion, men’s distance medley relay champion), Craig Engels (men’s distance medley relay champion), Trevor Gilley (men’s distance medley relay champion), Ryan Manahan (men’s distance medley relay champion, men’s mile third place), Raven Saunders (women’s shot put champion) and Ryan Walling (men’s 3000-meter champion, men’s 5000-meter champion).

Second-team distinction went to those athletes who finished second or third in individual events, which included Wesley Gallagher (men’s 3000-meter third place) and Sean Tobin (men’s mile runner-up, men’s 3000-meter runner-up).

Under the direction of first-year head coach Connie Price-Smith, the Ole Miss men matched their best SEC indoor finish in school history with a third-place result and scored the most points in program history with 80.5. An incredible 75 of those 80.5 points came from men’s distance events overseen by assistant coach Ryan Vanhoy.

The Rebels finished 1-2-3-5 in the men’s mile and 1-2-3 in the men’s 3000 meters, while also claiming the 5000 meters and distance medley relay. Ole Miss joined Arkansas as the only programs to ever sweep the men’s distance events at an SEC indoor meet.

Walling, the first athlete in Ole Miss history to win the SEC 3K/5K double, shared the Cliff Harper Trophy with Tennessee’s Christian Coleman as the high points scorers at the meet with 20.

SEC indoor track & field postseason individual awards will be announced early next week.

The Rebels will soon find out which athletes will qualify and advance to the NCAA Indoor Track & Field Championships, held March 11-12 in Birmingham, Alabama.

First Team All-SEC Rebels
Robert Domanic
Craig Engels
Trevor Gilley
Ryan Manahan
Raven Saunders
Ryan Walling

Second Team All-SEC Rebels
Wesley Gallagher
Sean Tobin



For more information on Ole Miss Track & Field, follow the Rebels on Twitter at @OleMissTrack, as well as Facebook and Instagram.




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago