Fifteen Rebels Earn SEC Track & Field Honors
Nick DeRay, Sean Tobin and Robert Domanic
March 6, 2017

Complete list of SEC award winners

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – Historic team performances for the Ole Miss men and women at the recent Southeastern Conference Indoor Track & Field Championships have also resulted in a number of individual accolades for the Rebels.

A whopping 15 Ole Miss athletes have earned SEC honors, with seven Rebels named All-SEC first team, six making the second team and two making the All-Freshman squad.

First-team honors went to individual or relay event champions, while second-team accolades were given to individuals and relay members who finished second or third at the SEC indoor meet. All-Freshman status was bestowed on the top freshman finisher in each individual event.

Here are the Ole Miss honorees:

Men’s All-SEC First Team
Nick DeRay (distance medley relay champion)
Robert Domanic (distance medley relay champion, mile third place)
Craig Engels (distance medley relay champion, 800m third place)
MJ Erb (5000m champion, 3000m runner-up)
Sean Tobin (mile champion, distance medley relay champion)

Men’s All-SEC Second Team
Trevor Gilley (mile runner-up)
Brian Williams (shot put runner-up)

Women’s All-SEC First Team
Raven Saunders (shot put champion)
Janeah Stewart (weight throw champion, shot put runner-up)

Women’s All-SEC Second Team
Anna Braswell (distance medley relay third place)
Shelby Brown (distance medley relay third place)
Jolie Carbo (distance medley relay third place)
Maddie McHugh (800m third place, distance medley relay third place)

Women’s All-Freshman Team
Nicole Kallenberger (pole vault)
Kaira Simmons (long jump)

The men’s overall award recipients, as voted on by the league coaches, were given to Fred Kerley of Texas A&M (Runner of the Year); KeAndre Bates of Florida (Field Athlete of the Year); Grant Holloway of Florida (Freshman Runner of the Year); Clayton Brown of Florida (Freshman Field Athlete of the Year); Kenzo Cotton of Arkansas (Scholar-Athlete of the Year) and Chris Bucknam of Arkansas (Coach of the Year).

The women’s award recipients include Missouri’s Karissa Schweizer (Runner of the Year); Georgia’s Keturah Orji (Field Athlete of the Year); Arkansas’ Taylor Werner (Freshman Runner of the Year); Georgia’s Louisa Grauvogel (Freshman Field Athlete of the Year); Arkansas’ Tori Weeks (Scholar-Athlete of the Year); and Arkansas’ Lance Harter (Coach of the Year).

Next up for Ole Miss are the NCAA Indoor Championships this Friday and Saturday. The Rebels have a school-record 10 entries (five men’s, five women’s) who will contest for national titles in College Station, Texas.

For more information on Ole Miss Track & Field, follow the Rebels on Twitter (@OleMissTrack), Facebook and Instagram.






  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago