Six Rebels Earn USTFCCCA Indoor All-America Status
Robert Domanic hands off to Derek Gutierrez during the NCAA distance medley relay. (photo by Joshua McCoy)
March 14, 2016

2016 USTFCCCA Indoor All-Americans

OXFORD, Miss. – Six Ole Miss athletes earned All-America recognition from the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association for their efforts at the 2016 NCAA Indoor Championships last weekend in Birmingham, Alabama.

Five Rebel men garnered first-team status – Ryan Walling in the 5000 meters (seventh place, 13:53.52) and the distance medley relay quartet of Robert Domanic, Derek Gutierrez, Craig Engels and Sean Tobin (third place, 9:31.82). Raven Saunders earned second-team status in the women’s shot put (11th place, 16.59m/54-5.25), while Lindsey Murray was named honorable mention in the women’s pole vault.

Athletes who finished 1-8 at NCAAs this past weekend in individual events and as part of relay teams were designated first team All-America. The rest of the finishers were second team All-America - unless he or she did not finish or was disqualified from competition and in that case, was named honorable mention.

Ole Miss now has 156 All-America selections among 75 different athletes in program history.

The total of six indoor All-Americans ties the school record set in 1999, when men’s All-Americans included Savante’ Stringfellow (long jump), Alonzo Banks (800m, 4x400m relay), Jimmy Love (4x400m relay) and Wayne Woollery (4x400m relay), and women’s All-Americans were Teneeshia Jones (60m) and Tisha Parker (long jump).



Walling, a graduate transfer from the University of North Carolina, earned All-America distinction for the first time in his college career. He is the second runner in school history to be an All-American in the 5000, joining Pablo Sierra (1993). The Cary, North Carolina, native finished his indoor career as the SEC champion in both the 3000 meters and 5000 meters.

Domanic and Engels were outdoor All-Americans last season (1500m and 800m, respectively), while Gutierrez and Tobin earn that status for the first time in their careers. They are the first four Ole Miss athletes to be named All-Americans in the DMR. The 1985 men’s squad of Melvin Dean, K.C. Nielsen, Brian Pope and Victor Shine placed seventh at the NCAA Indoor Championships, but All-America honors only went to the top six finishers at that time.

The DMR, which features four legs of 1200, 400, 800 and 1600 meters, was an electric event for the Rebels in 2016. Three different groupings made history in their own ways. Domanic, Ryan Manahan, Engels and Tobin set the school record of 9:30.48 at Penn State, while Trevor Gilley, Engels, Manahan and Domanic broke the SEC meet record in Fayetteville, Arkansas, with a time of 9:37.14. Their three times this year are the best three in school history ahead of the previous mark of 9:38.20 set by the 1985 team at the national meet.

The overwhelming favorite to win her third straight NCAA shot put title, Saunders finished 11th after recording a first-attempt mark of 16.59m/54-5.25 followed by two fouls. Still, Saunders becomes the first Ole Miss female All-American in the shot put and the second by either gender, joining Derek McGuire (2009 outdoor).

Ole Miss now turns its attention to the outdoor season, which begins this Thursday-Saturday at the Alabama Relays in Tuscaloosa.

For more information on Ole Miss Track & Field, follow the Rebels on Twitter at @OleMissTrack, as well as Facebook and Instagram.




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago