#Saunders4Bowerman Fan Vote
June 28, 2016

Vote Here for #Saunders4Bowerman

Last week, Ole Miss sophomore thrower Raven Saunders was named one of three women’s finalists for The Bowerman Award, presented annually to college track & field’s best athlete.

Fans can be a part of the selection process through the Fan Vote at TheBowerman.org. It runs through Friday, July 1 and is open to anybody in the world with a valid email address. You may vote up to five times per day (per gender) from the same email address, regardless of device.

Online fan voting started in 2009 with more than 250,000 votes having been cast since. Winners of the fan vote receive a first-place vote to their overall total.

Paper balloting by The Bowerman Advisory Board, past winners, selected media personnel, statisticians, and collegiate administrators is also underway until August 2. An independent accounting firm will collect, tabulate, and certify final results and will keep the result secret until the envelope is opened in December.

The Bowerman Voters will receive ballots listing each of the finalists and must rank them by first, second and third choice. First-place votes will receive three points, second place will notch two, and third will receive one point. The finalist with the highest point total will be declared the winner.

Here’s a closer look at the three finalists for each gender.

Women’s Finalists

Texas’ Courtney Okolo: She was the Queen of the Quarter Mile in 2016 as the Carrollton, Texas native swept the 400-meter crowns and anchored two winning 4×400 relay teams. Okolo lowered her outdoor collegiate record to 49.71 and became the first woman in collegiate history to go sub-50 seconds.



Georgia’s Keturah Orji: Collegiate records weren’t enough for her this year, so she set her sights on the American record. Orji dominated the triple jump this season and swept the slate clean (indoor/outdoor) and broke the outdoor collegiate record and set an American record in the process at NCAAs.

Ole Miss’ Raven Saunders: She set the indoor and outdoor collegiate records in the shot put, of which the latter stood for 33 years before she turned it to dust at Hayward Field for an NCAA title.

Men’s Finalists

Texas A&M’s Donavan Brazier: The freshman phenom ran the fifth fastest time over 800 meters in collegiate history indoors (1:45.93) and then broke Jim Ryun’s 50-year-old record outdoors (1:43.55) on his way to the NCAA title.

Oregon’s Edward Cheserek: The first three-time finalist in the history of The Bowerman Award added four more individual titles (five total) to his legendary haul and became the first man since Galen Rup to wear all major distance crowns in the same academic year (3000-5000-DMR-5000-10000).

Arkansas’ Jarrion Lawson: The Razorback joined Jesse Owens as the only men in NCAA history to complete the long jump-100-200 triple at the NCAA Outdoor Championships (Owens did it twice) and broke the modern-day scoring record at the meet with 31.5 points. Lawson also won the indoor long jump title and placed fifth in the 60.




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago