Three Rebels to Compete at IAAF World U20 Championships
July 9, 2018

Live Results | Live Stream Info | Broadcast Info | Meet Info

TAMPERE, Finland
– Three Rebel distance runners will compete for their home countries as part of the 2018 IAAF World U20 Championships in Finland this week.

The World U20 Championships (previously called World Junior) were created in 1986 (Athens, Greece) and have been held on a biennial basis since in 1988 (Sudbury, Canada), 1990 (Plovdiv, Bulgaria), 1992 (Seoul, South Korea), 1994 (Lisbon, Portugal), 1996 (Sydney, Australia), 1998 (Annecy, France), 2000 (Santiago, Chile), 2002 (Kingston, Jamaica), 2004 (Grosseto, Italy), 2006 (Beijing, China), 2008 (Bydgoszcz, Poland), 2010 (Moncton, Canada), 2012 (Barcelona, Spain), 2014 (Eugene, Oregon) and 2016 (Bydgoszcz, Poland).

Ole Miss will send three to the 2018 championships, the most in program history. Competing are Rebel freshmen phenoms Clio Ozanne-Jaques (Australia, women’s 5K) and Lisa Vogelgesang (Germany, women’s 3000-meter steeplechase), as well as Ole Miss signee Mario Garcia Romo (Spain, men’s 1500-meter).

Vogelgesang will kick things off for the Rebels at 1:30 a.m. CT this Tuesday morning in Heat One the women’s 3000-meter steeplechase prelims. Vogelgesang earned SEC All-Freshman honors during both the indoor and outdoor track seasons in 2018, but it was the outdoor season where she shined, earning Second-Team All-SEC honors as the runner-up to teammate Shelby Brown in the steeplechase at the conference meet.

Vogelgesang’s runner-up time of 10:06.00 was a 16-second PR that put her at No. 2 all-time at Ole Miss after only three tries in the event. Additionally, that time put Vogelgesang as the No. 14 German junior ever in the event and No. 2 on the German season list. She enters the meet this week with the seventh best seed time.

Garcia Romo of Spain is up next less than an hour later at 2:25 a.m. CT in Heat One of the men’s 1500-meter prelims. He owns a personal best of 3:42.35 and a season-best of 3:42.78, and he stands as one of just 10 in competition to have cracked 3:43 this year.

Australia’s Ozanne-Jaques earned SEC All-Freshman honors in the cross country, indoor and outdoor seasons, and was the Rebels’ top women’s finisher at the NCAA Cross Country Championships last fall. She runs later at 9:40 a.m. CT in the women’s 5000-meter finals, entering with a PR of 16:13.82 from the Mt. SAC Relays in April – the second-fastest 5K time in school history.

Fans can watch live via the IAAF’s YouTube and Facebook pages.


Tuesday, July 10

1:30 a.m. CT – Lisa Vogelgesang, Women’s 3000-Meter Steeplechase Prelims (Heat 1)

2:25 a.m. CT – Mario Garcia Romo, Men’s 1500-Meter Prelims (Heat 1)

9:40 a.m. CT – Clio Ozanne-Jaques, Women’s 5000-Meter Finals

Thursday, July 12

12:25 p.m. CT – Mario Garcia Romo, Men’s 1500-Meter Finals (if qualified)

Friday, July 13

12:45 p.m. CT – Lisa Vogelgesang, Women’s 3000-Meter Steeplechase Finals (if qualified)


1992 (Seoul, South Korea)

Greg Saddler, USA (4x100-meter Relay)

2002 (Kingston, Jamaica)

Marquita Aldridge, USA (Long Jump)

Antwon Hicks, USA (110-Meter Hurdles, Gold Medal)

2004 (Grosseto, Italy)

Carmia Carroll, USA (High Jump)

2006 (Beijing, China)

Rodney Lockhart, USA (400-Meter)

2010 (Moncton, Canada)

Mike Granger, USA (4x100-Meter Relay, Gold Medal; 100-Meter Dash, 4th Place)

2012 (Barcelona, Spain)

Sean Tobin, Ireland (1500-Meter)

2014 (Eugene, Oregon)

Jalen Miller, USA (4x100-Meter Relay, Gold Medal)

2018 (Tampere, Finland)

Mario Garcia Romo, Spain (1500-Meter)

Lisa Vogelgesang, Germany (3000-Meter Steeplechase)

Clio Ozanne-Jaques, Australia (5K)

For more information on Ole Miss Track & Field and Cross Country, follow the Rebels on Twitter (@OleMissTrack), Facebook and Instagram.






  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago