NCAA XC South Regionals Up Next for Surging Rebels
Wesley Gallagher at the 2014 SEC Cross Country Championships (photo by David Christy)
Nov. 13, 2014



OXFORD, Miss. – After matching their best-ever SEC men’s cross country finish, the Ole Miss Rebels are in the thick of the national postseason conversation.

The Ole Miss men and women head to Tallahassee, Florida, for the NCAA South Region Championships on Friday.

The women’s 6K begins at 8 a.m. CT with the men’s 10K following at 9 a.m. Both races are to take place at the Apalachee Regional Park cross country course, with Florida State serving as the meet host.

The Ole Miss men are currently ranked second in the USTFCCCA South Region and are receiving votes in the national poll. The top two teams at the regional automatically advance to the NCAA Championships (Nov. 22 in Terre Haute, Indiana).

The Rebel men are coming off a runner-up finish at the SEC Championship, which tied the best in school history. Ole Miss received numerous accolades for that strong performance.

Junior Wesley Gallagher, freshman Sean Tobin and sophomore Robert Domanic all earned All-SEC first team honors for their performance. Tobin was also named SEC Cross Country Men's Co-Freshman Runner of the Year. Taylor Caldwell and Mark Robertson joined Tobin on the SEC All-Freshman team.

Last season at Northeastern, Gallagher qualified for the NCAA Championships as an individual after a strong performance at the Northeast Regional.

Ole Miss will run Trevor Gilley and Daniel Bulmer in addition to Gallagher, Tobin, Domanic, Caldwell and Robertson.

The Rebel women enter the meet after finishing 12th in the SEC Championship. Margaret Harkness clocked the best time for the Rebels last time out, with Shelby Brown leading the way the previous two races.

Harkness, Brown, Scarlett Fox, Elisabeth Gaillet, Madison Rawson and Leanne Zimmer will race for the Rebels in Tallahassee.   

Thirteen at-large teams are selected from those not finishing in the top two of their respective regional. Thirty-six individuals automatically qualify to the Championships by being one of the top four individuals not on an advancing team. A committee selects two more individuals at-large.

Be sure and follow Ole Miss on Twitter at @OleMissTrack and head coach Brian O'Neal at @CoachBrianONeal. Also, check out




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago