Ole Miss Cross Country Starts off Season with Top-3 Finishes
Sept. 4, 2016

Complete Women's Results | Complete Men's Results | Photo Gallery

MEMPHIS, Tenn. - 
The Ole Miss cross country team started off the season Saturday night earning top-3 finishes in the 2016 Brooks Memphis Twilight Classic.

Coach Ryan Vanhoy believes that, "...the group that raced tonight competed pretty well," as the Rebels only competed a portion of both teams, "We plan to hold our full squad until next weekend," he added.

The Ole Miss men, led by junior Derek Gutierrez finishing fourth individually, finished third overall in the men's 4-mile. Improving on last year's fourth place Twilight Classic finish.

"Derek ran a great race to lead the men's team, almost 30 seconds faster than the same meet last year," Vanhoy said about the junior.

The men finished with a total of five runners in the top-50 while improving on last year's team average 20:50.54 with a 20:22.83.

The women also finished third overall, with eight runners turning in top-50 finishes. Led by sophomore Anna Braswell, who finished 14th individually in the 5K, the team ran an average 18:12.16.

Vanhoy said that the women "...started a little too conservative in the first mile, but closed very well over the late stages and passed a lot of the field in the final mile of the race."

"We look forward to competing at home next weekend," Vanhoy added looking forward to the Rebel Invite on September 3. The Rebels plan to race their entire roster at home.

The Ole Miss cross country team will be back in action next week as The Rebel Invite will take place Friday September 3 at FNC Park in Oxford. The women's 5K will begin at 7p.m. and the men's 4-mile will begin at 7:30p.m. The event is free to the public, however there will be a $5 parking fee per car.


14. Anna Braswell - - 17:59.75
19.Haley Ward - - 18:09.34
21. Maddie McHugh - - 18:12.73
23. Tavyn Lovitt - - 18:17.49
26. Julia England - - 18:21.48
34. Maddy Nikkel - - 18:28.05
36. Chelsea Drum - - 18:29.88
45. Elisabeth Gaillet - - 18:40.60
54. Jessica Thurman - - 19:01.40
62. Saga Barzowski - - 19:14.48


4. Derek Gutierrez - - 19:46.79
13. Brandon Harvey - - 20:05.69
15. Abraham Merinar - - 20:13.73
42. Nolan Hesse - - 20:49.69
48. Robinson Snider - - 20:58.22
125. Quinn Cannella - - 22:17.83
137. Shamar Tucker - - 22:31.37

For more information on Ole Miss Track & Field and Cross Country, follow the Rebels on Twitter (@OleMissTrack), Facebook and Instagram.






  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago