Ole Miss Opens Championship Season in College Station
MJ Erb
Oct. 28, 2015

Championship Central | Live Results

OXFORD, Miss. - The Ole Miss men's and women's cross country teams kick off the championship portion of the schedule as they head to College Station for the SEC Championships.

The men's 8K race is scheduled for a 10 a.m. CT start, while the women's 6K race will follow at 11 a.m. CT. An awards ceremony will take place after the race.

The Ole Miss men enter the SEC Championships ranked No. 2 in the USTFCCCA South Region. The Rebels are looking to rebound from a 24th place finish at the Wisconsin adidas Invitational.

Last season, the Ole Miss men raced to a runner-up finish at the SEC Championships on Friday, tying the 1968 second-place result as the best in program history. That performance last season led to the Rebels being selected to win the SEC by league coaches in the preseason.

The Rebels will race two members of last season's All-SEC first team in Sean Tobin and Robert Domanic. Along with Tobin and Domanic, the Rebels will send out Ian Carter, Craig Engels, MJ Erb, Trevor Gilley, Derek Gutierrez, Brandon Harvey, Ryan Manahan and Mark Robertson. Erb holds the fastest 8K time this season for Ole Miss and seventh fastest by any SEC runner.

The Ole Miss women are currently ranked No. 8 in the South Region after a fourth place finish last time out at the Crimson Classic.

Junior Mary Alex England has clocked the best time for the Rebels in three of the four meets this season, finishing in the top 10 in all four. As a team, the Ole Miss women have collected three top five at events this season after only one last season.

Shelby Brown finished with the best time for Ole Miss in one race and has been the second fastest Rebel in each other meet. Along with England and Brown, Emily Bean, Julia England, Elisabeth Gaillet, Katherine MacNeal, Nicole Park, Bo Ummels, Britt Ummels and Leanne Zimmer will compete at the SEC Championships.

Ole Miss will compete against four teams ranked in the latest USTFCCCA Coaches' Poll in the two races. On the men's side, Arkansas is the checks in at No. 8. The women's race includes No. 4 Arkansas, No. 13 Mississippi State and No. 26 Vanderbilt.

Arkansas is the defending SEC Cross Country Champion on both the men's and women's sides.

For more information on Ole Miss Track & Field and Cross Country, follow the Rebels on Twitter at @OleMissTrack, as well as Facebook and Instagram.






  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago