SEC Coaches Tab Robinson Preseason All-SEC
Shortstop Errol Robinson
Feb. 18, 2016

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – Ole Miss junior shortstop Errol Robinson was named preseason All-Southeastern Conference Second Team, the league announced Thursday morning. The preseason All-SEC teams were chosen by the conference’s 14 head coaches.

The All-SEC honor adds another preseason accolade for Robinson. Ole Miss’ third-year starting shortstop already collected preseason All-America honors from Baseball America and Major League Baseball scouts tabbed Robinson as the best shortstop in the country heading into the season, earning him a spot on Baseball America’s Preseason All-America First Team.

Robinson will begin his junior campaign as the most experienced Rebel on the field with 124 starts at shortstop under his belt. Last year, he hit at a .297 clip, collecting a team-high 62 hits. Robinson also racked up 11 doubles, 30 RBI and 31 runs throughout 2015. His offensive production and dependable glove helped Ole Miss reach its 13th NCAA Regional in the last 15 seasons.

SEC coaches also submitted their season predictions in terms of the conference standings. No. 24 Ole Miss was projected to place fifth in the SEC West after being projected to finish sixth in the last two preseason polls. In those years, the Rebels exceeded conference expectations with a College World Series appearance in 2014 and a NCAA Regional berth last season.

No. 1 Florida and No. 3 Texas A&M earned the most votes in their respective divisions. Ten SEC teams are ranked in at least one poll to begin the 2016 season. A total of seven SEC teams qualified for NCAA Regionals in 2015 and conference teams comprised half of the College World Series field. The SEC slate begins March 18 with the Rebels traveling to Tennessee for a weekend series against the Volunteers.

The Rebels take the field and begin the 2016 campaign tomorrow against Florida International. Friday’s first pitch is set for 4 p.m. CT at Oxford-University Stadium/Swayze Field. The game, along with the rest of the series, will be broadcast on SECN+.



Follow Ole Miss Baseball on Twitter at @OleMissBSB, on Facebook at Ole Miss Baseball and on Instagram at olemissbsb.


Eastern Division (First Place Votes)
1. Florida (13) - 9
2. Vanderbilt (1) - 78
3. South Carolina - 54
4. Kentucky - 53
5. Missouri - 47
6. Georgia  - 32
7. Tennessee - 30

Western Division (First Place Votes)
1. Texas A&M (8) - 85
2. LSU (5) - 79
3. Arkansas  - 65
4. Mississippi State (1) - 49
5. Ole Miss - 46
6. Auburn - 33
7. Alabama - 28

SEC Champion: Florida (13); Vanderbilt (1)


First Team
C – JJ Schwarz, Florida
1B – Peter Alonso, Florida
2B – Ryne Birk, Texas A&M
SS – Ryan Howard, Missouri
3B – Nick Senzel, Tennessee
OF – Nick Banks, Texas A&M
OF – Buddy Reed, Florida
OF – Anfernee Grier, Auburn
DH/UT – JJ Schwarz, Florida
SP – Alex Lange, LSU
SP – A.J. Puk, Florida*
SP – Logan Shore, Florida*
RP – Zach Jackson, Arkansas

Second Team
C – Mike Rivera, Florida
1B – Evan White, Kentucky*
1B – Hunter Melton, Texas A&M*
2B – Rick Nomura, Arkansas
SS – Errol Robinson, Ole Miss
3B – Will Toffey, Vanderbilt
OF – Bryan Reynolds, Vanderbilt
OF – Stephen Wrenn, Georgia
OF – Jake Fraley, LSU
DH/UT – Clark Eagan, Arkansas
SP – Tanner Houck, Missouri
SP – Robert Tyler, Georgia*
SP – Jared Poche', LSU*
RP – Ryan Hendrix, Texas A&M

* - Ties were not broken




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago