Chase Cockrell Named Semifinalist for Dick Howser Trophy
May 17, 2018

DALLAS – Chase Cockrell has been named a semifinalist for the Dick Howser Trophy, given annually to the top player in college baseball, the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association announced Thursday.

Cockrell has been one of the most lethal bats in the Ole Miss lineup this season. He leads the Rebels in slugging percentage at .607 and is second in batting average at .348. The junior out of Bastrop, Louisiana, has clubbed eight home runs and 11 doubles and has tallied 33 RBI and 34 runs scored. He has 11 multi-RBI and 11 multi-hit so far games this season.

One of the most powerful bats in the Rebel order, Cockrell has two multi-homer games to his name this season, including two bombs in a crucial Game 3 win at South Carolina in early May. Three of the top-five hardest-hit balls at Swayze Field this season have come off of Cockrell’s bat, including a groundout at the top of the list that left at 113.9 mph.

Cockrell is one of 35 semifinalists for the award, including nine out of the Southeastern Conference, more than any other league. The Dick Howser Trophy, given in memory of the former Florida State University All-America shortstop and major league player and manager, who died of brain cancer in 1987, is regarded by many as college baseball's most prestigious award. Criteria for consideration of the trophy include performance on the field, leadership, moral character and courage, qualities that were exemplified by Dick Howser's life.

The finalists for the 32nd Dick Howser Trophy will be announced on Friday, June 8.  The 2018 award will be presented at TD Ameritrade Stadium in downtown Omaha, the home of the College World Series for the seventh year. The winner will be unveiled on MLB Network on Friday, June 15 and then a press conference with the winner will be held on Saturday, June 16 at 10 a.m. (CDT), the opening day of the 2018 CWS. 



For the latest news and updates involving Ole Miss Baseball, follow the Rebels on Twitter at @OleMissBSB, on Facebook at Ole Miss Baseball and on Instagram at olemissbsb.
2018 Dick Howser Trophy Semifinalists
Joey Bart, C, Georgia Tech
Seth Beer, OF, Clemson
Alec Bohm, 3B, Wichita State
Brian Brown, SP, NC State
Michael Byrne, RP, Florida
Chase Chambers, 1B, Tennessee Tech
Kody Clemens, 2B, Texas
Chase Cockrell, DH, Ole Miss
Kole Cottam, 1B, Kentucky
Greg Cullen, SS, Niagara
Will Dalton, OF, Florida
Logan Gilbert, SP, Stetson
Devlin Grandberg, OF, Dallas Baptist
Luke Heimlich, SP, Oregon State
Luke Heyer, 3B, Kentucky
Alex Holderbach, C, Eastern Kentucky
Jonathan India, 3B, Florida
Josh Jung, 3B, Texas Tech
Trevor Larnach, OF, Oregon State
Grant Little, OF, Texas Tech
Jack Little, RP, Stanford
Nick Madrigal, 2B, Oregon State
Casey Mize, SP, Auburn
Bryant Packard, OF, East Carolina
Adley Rutschman, C, Oregon State
Nick Sandlin, SP, Southern Miss
Braden Shewmake, SS, Texas A&M
Brady Singer, SP, Florida
Bren Spillane, 1B, Illinois
Kevin Strohschein, DH, Tennessee Tech
Chase Strumpf, 2B, UCLA
Spencer Torkerlson, 1B, Arizona State
Andrew Vaughn, 1B, California
Steele Walker, OF, Oklahoma
Will Wilson, SS, NC State




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago