Bortles and Rolison Earn SEC Honors

May 22, 2017

SEC Release

- Two Rebels earned SEC Baseball accolades when the league office released their all-conference lists Monday afternoon. Third baseman Colby Bortles was named second team All-SEC, while left-handed pitcher Ryan Rolison found a spot on the Freshman All-SEC team.

Bortles was a preseason second team All-SEC honoree, and the senior lived up to those expectations in his final season as a Rebel. Along with manning the hot corner, he leads the Rebels with 10 home runs and 42 RBI. A .270 hitter, Bortles also paces the team in multi-RBI games (12) over 54 starts. He's hitting even better in SEC play with a .275 batting average. The Oviedo, Florida, native is the conference leader in sacrifice flies (7), which ranks 16th in the country. Playing in 212 games throughout his Ole Miss career, Bortles ranks 10th in program history with 153 RBI.

A highly-touted All-American out of high school, Rolison began the season in the bullpen before emerging as a key piece to the Ole Miss rotation. The Jackson, Tennessee, native is 6-3 on the 2017 campaign with a 3.06 ERA over 61.2 innings. Among qualified pitchers, the southpaw has allowed the fifth-fewest runs (23) in the SEC. Out of 18 appearances, Rolison has started nine games. His best outing of the year was against Missouri (April 22), tossing 6.0 scoreless innings and allowing only one hit. Adding a career-high nine strikeouts in the start against the Tigers, Rolison earned SEC Freshman of the Week honors.

Bortles, Rolison and the rest of the Rebels will begin SEC Tournament play tomorrow afternoon, facing No. 20 Auburn for the fourth consecutive game. The winner will earn a spot into the double elimination portion of the tournament. First pitch from the Hoover Met in Hoover, Alabama is scheduled for 4:30 p.m. CT on SEC Network.

For the latest news and updates involving Ole Miss Baseball, follow the Rebels on Twitter at @OleMissBSB, on Facebook at Ole Miss Baseball and on Instagram at olemissbsb.

2017 SEC Baseball Awards
Player of the Year: Brent Rooker, Mississippi State
Pitcher of the Year: Sean Hjelle, Kentucky
Freshman of the Year: Braden Shewmake, Texas A&M
Coach of the Year: Nick Mingione, Kentucky
Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Zach Logue, Kentucky

First-Team All-SEC
C: Grant Koch, Arkansas
1B: Brent Rooker, Mississippi State
2B: Braden Shewmake, Texas A&M
3B: Jordan Rodgers, Tennessee
SS: Ryan Gridley, Mississippi State
OF: Greg Deichmann, LSU
OF: Tristan Pompey, Kentucky
OF: Jeren Kendall, Vanderbilt
DH/UT: Michael Curry, Georgia
SP: Kyle Wright, Vanderbilt
*SP: Sean Hjelle, Kentucky
*SP: Alex Lange, LSU
RP: Logan Salow, Kentucky

Second-Team All-SEC Team
C: Troy Squires, Kentucky
1B: Evan White, Kentucky
2B: Riley Mahan, Kentucky
3B: Colby Bortles, Ole Miss
*SS: Kramer Robertson, LSU
*SS: Jax Biggers, Arkansas
OF: Jonah Todd, Auburn
OF: Jake Mangum, Mississippi State
OF: Chandler Taylor, Alabama
DH/UT: JJ Schwarz, Florida
SP: Alex Faedo, Florida
SP: Brady Singer, Florida
RP: Michael Byrne, Florida

Freshman All-SEC Team
C: Hunter Coleman, Texas A&M
1B: Andre Lipcius, Tennessee
2B: Braden Shewmake, Texas A&M
3B: Josh Smith, LSU
SS: Cam Shepherd, Georgia
OF: Carlos Cortes, South Carolina
OF: Zach Watson, LSU
OF: Dominic Fletcher, Arkansas
DH/UT: Logan Foster, Texas A&M
SP: Ryan Rolison, Ole Miss
SP: Eric Walker, LSU
RP: T.J. Sikkema, Missouri

SEC All-Defensive Team
C: Michael Papierski, LSU
1B: Evan White, Kentucky
2B: Deacon Liput, Florida
3B: Josh Smith, LSU
SS: Dalton Guthrie, Florida
OF: Jeren Kendall, Vanderbilt
OF: Jonah Todd, Auburn
OF: Jake Mangum, Mississippi State
P: Brigham Hill, Texas A&M

* - Denotes a tie in voting. Ties are not broken.






  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago