Parker Caracci Named Second Team All-American by Baseball America
May 31, 2018

DURHAM, N.C. – Ole Miss baseball closer Parker Caracci was named a Second Team All-American by Baseball America on Thursday.

The baseball publication designated the Rebel closer after a stellar season. The sophomore out of Jackson, Mississippi, has recorded 10 saves this season, putting him in a tie for seventh on the team’s all-time single-season charts. Behind Caracci, Ole Miss has totaled 20 saves as a team, putting it one behind the program’s single-season record of 21.

The Jackson Prep product has been rock-solid in big situations this season. Eight of his 10 saves, have come with the go-ahead run on base or at the plate. Eight of his saves have come with the tying run on base, including seven with the tying run in scoring position. Since March 15, 2014, the Rebels are 159-1 when leading going into the ninth inning.

Nine of his 10 saves have come in SEC play and seven have come against ranked opponents. Caracci has struck out 29 over 17.1 innings in those appearances. For the season, Caracci (4-2) has 68 strikeouts and just 10 walks with a 1.85 ERA.

He’ll anchor the Rebels’ back end once again as they begin postseason play on Friday at 6:30 p.m. CT, taking on Saint Louis out of the Atlantic-10 Conference in the opening round of the Oxford Regional.

For the latest news and updates involving Ole Miss Baseball, follow the Rebels on Twitter at @OleMissBSB, on Facebook at Ole Miss Baseball and on Instagram at olemissbsb.



Baseball America All-American Teams
First Team
C Joey Bart, Georgia Tech
1B Bren Spillane, Illinois
2B Kody Clemens, Texas
3B Jonathan India, Florida
SS Terrin Vavra, Minnesota
OF Seth Beer, Clemson
OF Trevor Larnach, Oregon State
OF Bryant Packard, East Carolina
DH Andrew Vaughn, California
UTL Brooks Wilson, Stetson
SP Logan Gilbert, Stetson
SP Casey Mize, Auburn
SP Nick Sandlin, Southern Mississippi
SP Brady Singer, Florida
RP Michael Byrne, Florida
RP Jack Little, Stanford
UTL Brooks Wilson, Stetson

Second Team
C Adley Rutschman, Oregon State
1B Spencer Torkelson, Arizona State
2B Nick Dunn, Maryland
3B Josh Jung, Texas Tech
SS Cadyn Grenier, Oregon State
OF Devlin Granberg, Dallas Baptist
OF Grant Little, Texas Tech
OF Steele Walker, Oklahoma
DH Alec Bohm, Wichita State
UTL Tanner Dodson, California
SP Kyle Brnovich, Elon
SP Colton Eastman, Cal State Fullerton
SP Blaine Knight, Arkansas
SP John Rooney, Hofstra
RP Parker Caracci, Ole Miss
RP Ryley Gilliam, Clemson
UTL Tanner Dodson, California

Third Team
C Cal Raleigh, Florida State
1B Chase Chambers, Tennessee Tech
2B Nick Madrigal, Oregon State
3B Luke Reynolds, Southern Mississippi
SS Logan Davidson, Clemson
OF Gage Canning, Arizona State
OF Keegan McGovern, Georgia
OF Andrew Moritz, UNC Greensboro
DH Kevin Strohschein, Tennessee Tech
UTL Jack Labosky, Duke
SP Mason Feole, Connecticut
SP Joey Murray, Kent State
SP Andre Pallante, UC Irvine
SP Adam Wolf, Louisville
RP Robert Broom, Mercer
RP Durbin Feltman, Texas Christian
UTL Jack Labosky, Duke




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago