Ole Miss Baseball Set for Annual Pizza Bowl
Oct. 25, 2016

OXFORD, Miss. – The final week of the fall season for the Ole Miss baseball team is here, which means it’s time to play for pizza. The Diamond Rebels will conclude fall ball with the annual Pizza Bowl, a best-of-three intrasquad series that will have bragging rights and delicious pizza on the line.

The 2016 Pizza Bowl will begin Wednesday, Oct. 26, with a 2 p.m. first pitch. Game two will follow Thursday at 3 p.m. If the series is tied after the first two contests, the deciding third game will take place Friday afternoon at 2 p.m., Oct. 28. The Pizza Bowl games at Oxford-University Stadium/Swayze Field are open to the public and admission is free.

Managing this year’s teams is a pair of Pizza Bowl veterans; senior Colby Bortles will manage the Red team, while junior Tate Blackman will lead the Blue squad. Both managers selected their teammates in the 2016 Pizza Bowl Draft Monday afternoon. Bortles won the coin toss and elected to take the first pick in the draft, giving Blackman home field advantage (home team in game one and, if necessary, game three). With the first pick in the 2016 Pizza Bowl Draft, Team Bortles selected sophomore pitcher James McArthur, a 2016 freshman All-American. The entire roster for both teams can be found below.

There are some guidelines for the Pizza Bowl. Pitchers will be held to a five-inning max per outing and can make two appearances in the series if they pitch less than three innings in both. Any pitcher throwing at least three inning during a game will be done for the series. Pitchers that go 1-2.2 innings in an outing will require one day off, while those pitching less than an inning of work do not need to rest. When the series is decided, the winning team will be rewarded with pizza, courtesy of the opposing team, while the losing team will have to run.

For updates on this year's Pizza Bowl, follow Ole Miss Baseball on Twitter at @OleMissBSB and Snapchat at OleMissBSB. Also don’t forget to follow the Rebs on Facebook at Ole Miss Baseball on Instagram at olemissbsb.

2016 Pizza Bowl
Team Bortles (Red) Team Blackman (Blue)
James McArthur Ryan Rolison
Chase Cockrell Ryan Olenek
David Parkinson Andy Pagnozzi
Nick Fortes Cooper Johnson
Connor Green Greer Holston
Kyle Watson Grae Kessinger
Thomas Dillard Carson Klepzig
Michael Fitzsimmons Will Golsan
Parker Caracci Jackson Tavel
Tim Rowe Cole Zabowski
DJ Miller Bryan Seamster
Trace Tyre Bryce Blaum
Sean Johnson Jason Barber
Brady Feigl Will Stokes
Korey Bell Houston Roth
Thomas Spinelli Brady Schanuel
Dallas Woolfolk Andrew Lowe
Will Ethridge






  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago