#TeamRobinson Wins 2015 Pizza Bowl
Errol Robinson
Nov. 1, 2015

OXFORD, Miss. – Just like at the end of every fall, the 2015 Pizza Bowl was a competitive battle for scrumptious pizza to the winner and some running to the loser. The intrasquad series needed a deciding game three, where the Blue squad (Team Robinson), managed by shortstop Errol Robinson, claimed the title of Pizza Bowl champs by defeating the Red team (Team Bortles) led by third baseman Colby Bortles.

The 2015 Pizza Bowl signals the end of fall practice for the Diamond Rebels. However, you can still keep up with the team’s offseason on social media. For more information on Ole Miss Baseball, follow the Rebels on Twitter at @OleMissBSB, on Facebook at Ole Miss Baseball and on Instagram at olemissbsb.


Game 1: Team Robinson 5, Team Bortles 2

Team Robinson jumped out to a 3-1 lead after the first inning, and Wyatt Short limited Team Bortles at the plate in a maximum five-inning outing. Robinson sent the All-SEC honoree out first, and Short did not disappoint. After allowing one run on three hits in the first inning, the southpaw retired the next 13 hitters, striking out five of them.

Team Robinson tallied 10 hits in the seven-inning contest. Connor Cloyd, DJ Miller, Nic Perkins and Ray Alejo recorded mutli-hit games as production came from all over the lineup. Perkins knocked in two of the team’s runs with a double, and he also crossed the plate once in the win.



For Team Bortles, the captain paced the team with two hits, including a double. However, they were limited to five hits throughout the contest. A bright spot on the mound, Connor Green struck out four in three scoreless innings of work.


Game 2: Team Bortles 4, Team Robinson 2

Game two turned out to be almost the exact opposite outcome of game one as Team Bortles used a 4-2 win to force a deciding third game. Team Bortles produced 12 hits through seven innings led by the manager, who homered and doubled in two of half of his team’s runs. Bortles’ two extra-base hits provided the lift his team needed to take the victory.

Kyle Watson smacked a team-high three hits in the middle of the lineup, while Henri Lartigue and Will Golsan added two hits apiece. On the mound for Team Bortles, James McArthur allowed two runs (one earned) on three hits with five strikeouts over five innings. Austin Sanders closed out the contest with a pair of scoreless frames.

Team Robinson could only muster four hits off the duo of McArthur and Sanders. Doubles by Miller and J.B. Woodman along with one hit from both Cloyd and Perkins led to only two runs.


Game 3: Team Robinson 5, Team Bortles 4

The intrasquad series went the distance, and the third game came down to the wire. In the end, it was Team Robinson that emerged victorious with a narrow 5-4 win in the final contest. Michael Fitzsimmons recorded a team-high three RBI to lead Team Robinson to pizza on the pitcher’s mound, while Team Bortles ran for the loss.

The top three hitters in Robinson’s lineup provided nearly all of the offense, scoring all five runs and tallying four of the team’s seven hits. Robinson himself led things off, followed by Tate Blackman and Woodman, who each scored twice. Fitzsimmons knocked in three of the runs with the help of a double. Cloyd added a single to finish with a hit in all three games.

Bortles did all he could to lead his team, putting together another multi-hit game by going 2-for-4 with a double. Lartigue and Joe Wainhouse combined for four hits as well, but it wasn’t enough as Team Bortles fell one run short.




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago