Saiz Wins C Spire Howell Trophy
March 6, 2017

JACKSON, Miss. - Ole Miss senior forward Sebastian Saiz has been named the 2017 C Spire Howell Trophy winner, the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame announced Monday.

The Howell Trophy, named for the legendary Bailey Howell, goes to the most outstanding men's collegiate basketball player in Mississippi. A statewide panel of media who cover college basketball in the state of Mississippi selected the finalists and voted among the finalists for the winner. Their votes accounted for 90 percent of the final vote and fan voting, conducted by C Spire, accounted for a weighted 10 percent of the final vote.

The is the fifth straight year a Rebel has been named the state’s top player after Stefan Moody won the trophy each of the last two seasons. Jarvis Summers took home the award in 2014 and Marshall Henderson earned the honor in 2013. Moody edged out Delta State’s Devin Schmidt and Mississippi State’s Quindary Weatherspoon to receive the honor last year.

A native of Madrid Spain, Saiz leads the SEC and ranks seventh in the nation in rebounding this season, pulling down 10.9 boards a game. The SEC’s active career rebounding leader, he recently moved past Reggie Buckner into third in Ole Miss history with 937 rebounds. Saiz has topped both 1,000 points and 900 boards in his career and joined Rebel great Murphy Holloway as the only two players in school history with 1,000 points and 900 rebounds. Saiz is also first player in school history and just the 16th player in SEC history with 1,000 points, 900 rebounds and 100 blocked shots.



Saiz and the Rebels open SEC Tournament play Thursday 8:30 pm against the Auburn-Missouri winner.




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago