Ole Miss Lands 11 on SEC Winter Academic Honor Roll
April 18, 2018

SEC Release

– Ole Miss landed 11 student-athletes on the SEC Winter Academic Honor Roll, which was announced today by SEC Commissioner Greg Sankey.

A total of 665 student-athletes from the 14 member schools of the SEC were honored on the winter list released today, which covers the sports of basketball, equestrian, gymnastics, rifle and swimming & diving.

Ole Miss rifle led the way with half of its roster earning the distinction with six total honorees, while the men’s and women’s basketball squads added in five selections.

Any student-athlete who participates in a Southeastern Conference championship sport or a student-athlete who participates in a sport listed on his/her institution's NCAA Sports Sponsorship Form is eligible for nomination to the Academic Honor Roll. The following criteria will be followed: (1) A student-athlete must have a grade point average of 3.00 or above for either the preceding academic year (two semesters or three quarters) or have a cumulative grade point average of 3.00 or above at the nominating institution. (2) If a student-athlete attends summer school, his/her grade point average during the summer academic term must be included in the calculation used to determine eligibility for the Academic Honor Roll. (3) Student-athletes eligible for the Honor Roll include those receiving an athletics scholarship, recipients of an athletics award (i.e., letter winner), and non-scholarship student-athletes who have been on a varsity team for two seasons. (4) Prior to being nominated, a student-athlete must have successfully completed 24 semester or 36 quarter hours of non-remedial academic credit toward a baccalaureate degree at the nominating institution. (5) The student-athlete must have been a member of a varsity team for the sport's entire NCAA Championship segment.

Ole Miss Honorees

Men’s Basketball (2)
Lane Below – General Studies
Dominik Olejniczak – Journalism

Women’s Basketball (3)

Alissa Alston – General Studies

Torri Lewis – Criminal Justice

Shandricka Sessom – Exercise Science

Rifle (6)

Hayley Carroll – Philosophy

Harley Gardner – Exercise Science

Jessica Haig – Forensic Chemistry

Alana Kelly – Biology (B.A.)

Randi Loudin – Integrated Marketing Communications

Kristyn Trump – Exercise Science

For further academic accolades, follow @UMTrueRebel on Twitter.

Ole Miss Student-Athlete Development Mission

The mission of the Ole Miss Student-Athlete Development program is to challenge student-athletes to be lifelong learners while pursuing continuous improvement academically, socially, personally and professionally during and beyond their careers as student-athletes.






  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago