McCluster Receives National Running Back Award

OXFORD, Miss. - After an extensive review of the existing data, literature and evidence, the College Football Performance Awards has announced Ole Miss' Dexter McCluster as the 2009 National Running Back Trophy recipient.

The purpose of the College Football Performance Awards is to provide the most scientifically rigorous conferments in college football. Recipients are selected exclusively based upon objective scientific rankings of the extent to which individual players increase the overall effectiveness of their teams.

McCluster's award is a 22-inch crystal tower with an 8-inch crystal football on top, and the trophy is heavier than the Stanley Cup.

A senior from Largo, Fla., McCluster became the first player in SEC history with 1,000 rushing yards (1,169) and 500 receiving yards (520) in the same season. The two-time Cotton Bowl MVP and All-SEC honoree concluded his career second on the Ole Miss all-purpose list with 4,089 yards.

2009 CFPA Trophy Recipients:
National Performer of the Year Trophy - Ryan Mallett (Arkansas)
Defensive Performer of the Year Trophy - Adrian Clayborn (Iowa)
Freshman Performer of the Year Trophy - LaMichael James (Oregon)
Quarterback Trophy - Case Keenum (Houston)
Running Back Trophy - Dexter McCluster (Ole Miss)
Wide Receiver Trophy - Golden Tate (Notre Dame), Danario Alexander (Missouri)
Tight End Trophy - Dennis Morris (Louisiana Tech)
Defensive Lineman Trophy - Brandon Graham (Michigan)
Linebacker Trophy - Greg Jones (Michigan State)
Defensive Back Trophy - Earl Thomas (Texas)
Placekicker Trophy - Blair Walsh (Georgia)
Punter Trophy - Drew Butler (Georgia)
Kickoff Specialist Trophy - Quinn Sharp (Oklahoma State)
Kickoff Returner Trophy - C.J. Spiller (Clemson)
Punt Returner Trophy - Damian Williams (USC)
Elite Tight End Trophy - Dennis Pitta (BYU)
Elite Running Back Trophy - Jahvid Best (California)
Elite Wide Receiver Trophy - Freddie Barnes (Bowling Green)
Elite Tight End Trophy - Cody Slate (Marshall)






  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago