Javon Patterson Selected for SEC Football Leadership Council
Feb. 2, 2018

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – Ole Miss senior lineman Javon Patterson is among 14 Southeastern Conference student-athletes who have been chosen to represent their team and institution as a member of the SEC Football Student-Athlete Leadership Council.

One representative from each SEC institution makes up the Council, which will hold its annual meeting at SEC headquarters in Birmingham on Friday and Saturday.

Patterson started all 12 games at right guard for Ole Miss during the 2017 season. He helped anchor an offensive line for a Rebel offense that led the SEC and ranked 11th nationally with 328 passing yards per game. The Rebels had three games in which they recorded multiple 60-yard touchdown passes, most in the FBS.

The Football Leadership Council is one of three components of the SEC Student-Athlete Leadership Council. The other two consist of representatives on the Men's and Women's Basketball Leadership Councils.

SEC Commissioner Greg Sankey introduced new Student-Athlete Leadership Councils in 2016 for the sports of football and men’s and women’s basketball which, in addition to the conference’s longstanding Student-Athlete Advisory Council (SAAC), provide student-athletes with additional opportunities to engage with campus leaders and conference office staff.

Among the agenda items for the group this weekend is a review of NCAA and SEC legislative items, open discussion on topics submitted by members of the Council, and engagement with football officials on rules of the game and student-athlete/referee interaction. Marcus Spears, SEC Network analyst and former SEC football student-athlete, will also meet with the group to discuss leadership and career development.

The student-athletes who comprise the SEC Football Leadership Council are: Josh Casher (Alabama), T.J. Smith (Arkansas), Derrick Brown (Auburn), Jeremiah Moon (Florida), Charlie Woerner (Georgia), Jordan Griffin (Kentucky), Blake Ferguson (LSU), Javon Patterson (Ole Miss), Gerri Green (Mississippi State), Damarea Crockett (Missouri), Bryson Allen-Williams (South Carolina), Micah Abernathy (Tennessee), Braden Mann (Texas A&M), Khari Blasingame (Vanderbilt), and Brandon Lee (Missouri - Autonomy Representative).

Follow Ole Miss Football on Twitter (@OleMissFB), Facebook and Instagram. For more information, visit www.OleMissSports.com.






  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago