Tickets Available for Chucky Mullins Award Ceremony
March 3, 2017

Chucky Mullins Courage Award Ceremony Tickets

OXFORD, Miss. – Ole Miss Athletics will host a breakfast and ceremony for the 28th annual Chucky Mullins Courage Award, presented by the M-Club, on Saturday, April 8 at the Manning Center's Grill at 1810.

Breakfast will begin at 7:30 a.m. CT, followed by the ceremony that includes featured former winner Alundis Brice. The annual Regions Bank Grove Bowl will be held at 11 a.m. that day at Vaught-Hemingway Stadium, marking the culmination of Ole Miss spring football practice. Admission is free to the game.

A limited number of tickets are available for fans to attend the Chucky Mullins Courage Award breakfast.

Brice, the 1994 winner of the award, was a two-time first team All-SEC cornerback for the Rebels in 1993 and 1994 before enjoying a seven-year professional football career. He helped the Dallas Cowboys win Super Bowl XXX over the Pittsburgh Steelers and also saw time in the AFL and CFL after knee injuries cut short his NFL tenure. Brice snagged seven interceptions in both 1993 and 1994 for the Rebels. He spent several years as a coach at the high school and college levels and is currently a family counselor and life mentor in Portland, Oregon.

The ceremony will include the unveiling of this year's recipient of the Chucky Mullins Courage Award, which goes to an upperclassman defensive player at Ole Miss who will have the honor of wearing Mullins' No. 38 on the field during the 2017 football season.

In addition to the announcement of this year's award winner, attendees at the breakfast will hear from head coach Hugh Freeze and see video highlights of many former award winners offering their reflections on Chucky Mullins and the significance of the honor.

Established in the spring of 1990 by the Phi Beta Sigma fraternity at Ole Miss, the Chucky Mullins Courage Award honors the late Mullins, who had his Rebel football career come to an end during the 1989 Homecoming game against Vanderbilt when he was paralyzed after making a tackle. After returning to his studies at Ole Miss, Mullins passed away on May 6, 1991.

Past recipients of the Chucky Mullins Courage Award include Chris Mitchell (1990), Jeff Carter (1991), Trea Southerland (1992), Johnny Dixon (1993), Alundis Brice (1994), Michael Lowery (1995), Derek Jones (1996), Nate Wayne (1997), Gary Thigpen (1998), Ronnie Heard (1999), Anthony Magee (2000), Kevin Thomas (2001), Lanier Goethie (2002), Jamil Northcutt (2003), Eric Oliver (2004), Kelvin Robinson (2005), Patrick Willis (2006), Jeremy Garrett (2007), Jamarca Sanford (2008), Marcus Tillman (2009), Kentrell Lockett (2010), Deterrian Shackelford (2011 and 2014), Jason Jones (2012), Mike Marry (2013), Mike Hilton (2015) and John Youngblood (2016).

Follow Ole Miss Football on Twitter (@OleMissFB), Facebook and Instagram. For more information, visit






  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago