Tickets on Sale for Chucky Mullins Award Ceremony
Coaches Billy Brewer and Hugh Freeze at last year's Chucky Mullins Courage Award ceremony (photo by Joshua McCoy)
March 8, 2016

OXFORD, Miss. - Ole Miss Athletics will host a breakfast and ceremony for the 27th annual Chucky Mullins Courage Award, presented by the M-Club, on Saturday, April 9 at the Manning Center's Grill at 1810.

Breakfast will begin at 8 a.m. CT, followed by the ceremony emceed by radio and television personality Richard Cross. As a reminder, Ole Miss will not have a spring football game this year due to construction at Vaught-Hemingway Stadium.

MARCH 24 UPDATE: General public tickets are SOLD OUT.

This year's featured former winner is 1991 recipient Jeff Carter, who was a teammate of Mullins'. A native of Tuscaloosa, Alabama, Carter joined the Rebel football team as a walk-on in 1987 before being awarded a scholarship after he took over the starting free safety job in 1989. The Outstanding Defensive Player of the 1989 Liberty Bowl, Carter was a three-year starter at free safety and compiled 194 tackles and five interceptions while helping Ole Miss to two bowl appearances. He has spent the last 20 years as a football coach at the high school, junior college and senior college levels and is in his second season as the head coach at Pontotoc High School in Pontotoc, Mississippi.

The ceremony will include the unveiling of this year's recipient of the Chucky Mullins Courage Award, which goes to an upperclassman defensive player at Ole Miss who will have the honor of wearing Mullins' No. 38 on the field during the 2016 football season.

In addition to the announcement of this year's award winner, attendees to the breakfast will hear from head coach Hugh Freeze and see video highlights of many former award winners offering their reflections on Chucky Mullins and the significance of the honor.

Established in the spring of 1990 by the Phi Beta Sigma fraternity at Ole Miss, the Chucky Mullins Courage Award honors the late Mullins, who had his Rebel football career come to an end during the 1989 Homecoming game against Vanderbilt when he was paralyzed after making a tackle. After returning to his studies at Ole Miss, Mullins passed away on May 6, 1991.

Past recipients of the Chucky Mullins Courage Award include Chris Mitchell (1990), Jeff Carter (1991), Trea Southerland (1992), Johnny Dixon (1993), Alundis Brice (1994), Michael Lowery (1995), Derek Jones (1996), Nate Wayne (1997), Gary Thigpen (1998), Ronnie Heard (1999), Anthony Magee (2000), Kevin Thomas (2001), Lanier Goethie (2002), Jamil Northcutt (2003), Eric Oliver (2004), Kelvin Robinson (2005), Patrick Willis (2006), Jeremy Garrett (2007), Jamarca Sanford (2008), Marcus Tillman (2009), Kentrell Lockett (2010), Deterrian Shackelford (2011 and 2014), Jason Jones (2012), Mike Marry (2013) and Mike Hilton (2015).

Follow Ole Miss Football on Twitter at @OleMissFB, as well as Facebook and Instagram. For more information, visit






  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago