Marquis Haynes Wins Chucky Mullins Courage Award
April 8, 2017

OXFORD, Miss. – As part of Regions Bank Grove Bowl festivities, Ole Miss handed out its annual spring football awards Saturday, headlined by senior defensive end Marquis Haynes being named the 2017 Chucky Mullins Courage Award winner. 

An All-SEC end and one of the best sack artists in Ole Miss history, Haynes became the 27th different recipient in the 28-year history of the award when it was revealed at Saturday's breakfast ceremony, presented by the M-Club.

Haynes will wear Mullins' No. 38 jersey throughout the 2017 season. 

The award, sponsored by Phi Beta Sigma fraternity, honors the late Chucky Mullins, who had his Ole Miss career come to an end during the 1989 Homecoming game against Vanderbilt when he was paralyzed after making a tackle. After returning to his studies at Ole Miss, Mullins passed away May 6, 1991. 

Head coach Hugh Freeze and the Rebel coaching staff selected Haynes from among several defensive veterans on the team. The award is presented annually to an Ole Miss upperclassman defensive player that embodies the spirit of Mullins - courage, leadership, perseverance and determination. 

“I’m really proud to be able to wear this number,” Haynes said after he was presented the award. “All praise to God.”

“There’s typically not a day he doesn’t come by my office to sit down and have a chat and tell me he loves me,” Freeze said. “He’s going to have a phenomenal year and wear the number 38 with great pride.”

Haynes has been a consistent threat in opposing teams’ backfields since his freshman year in 2014 when he helped Ole Miss finish as the nation’s No. 1 scoring defense. The Jacksonville, Florida, native ranks third in school history with 24.5 career sacks and fourth with 36.5 tackles for loss entering his senior year. A two-time All-SEC selection (2015, 2016), Haynes has led the Rebels in sacks all three years (7.5 in 2014, 10 in 2015, 7 in 2016).

“Young children actually know who I am and know I’m a role model,” said Haynes, who regularly reads to schoolchildren and participates in community service projects. “It makes me happy every day.”

Former Chucky Mullins Courage Award recipients are Chris Mitchell, Jeff Carter, Trea Southerland, Johnny Dixon, Alundis Brice, Michael Lowery, Derek Jones, Nate Wayne, Gary Thigpen, Ronnie Heard, Anthony Magee, Kevin Thomas, Lanier Goethie, Jamil Northcutt, Eric Oliver, Kelvin Robinson, Patrick Willis, Jeremy Garrett, Jamarca Sanford, Marcus Tillman, Kentrell Lockett, Deterrian Shackelford (twice), Jason Jones, Mike Marry, Mike Hilton and John Youngblood.

The Rebel coaching staff handed out a number of other awards prior to kickoff of the Regions Bank Grove Bowl, as listed below. 

The Eli Manning Award – Markell Pack
Presented to the most improved offensive football player based on spring practice performance in the area of spirit, leadership, hustle, determination and dependability. 

The Jeff Hamm Memorial Award – Detric Bing-Dukes
Presented to the most improved defensive football player based on spring practice performance in the areas of spirit, leadership, hustle, determination and dependability. 

The J. Richard Price Courage and Compassion Award – Daronte Bouldin
This award is presented annually to the upperclassman lineman who, in the opinion of his coaches, has demonstrated extraordinary courage and unusual compassion in his dedication to his team and to Ole Miss.

Park Stevens Memorial Scholarship – Dawson Knox
This award is presented annually to the top walk-on of the spring.

The John Howard Vaught Award of Excellence – Evan Engram
Presented to a graduating senior athlete. Qualifications are dedication, scholastic ability, morale and performance. 

Birmingham Alumni Club's annual Leadership Award – D.J. Jones
This award is a portrait awarded in recognition of a graduating senior football player for his leadership qualities both on and off the field. 

Clower-Walters Scholarship – John Youngblood
Established in 1974 by Jerry Clower to honor Carl Walters, a veteran Mississippi sportswriter. A plaque will be awarded to an outstanding graduating senior Ole Miss football player as selected by the coaching staff and a scholarship will be awarded in the name of the player selected.

National Football Foundation Freshman Scholar-Athlete Awards
Jack DeFoor
Donta Evans
Bryce Mathews
D.K. Metcalf
Shea Patterson

Follow Ole Miss Football on Twitter (@OleMissFB), Facebook and Instagram. For more information, visit






  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago