Three Rebels Named to NFF Hampshire Honor Society
April 11, 2018

IRVING, Texas – Three graduating members of the Ole Miss football program – Will Gleeson, Tayler Polk and Gary Wunderlich – have been recognized as members of the 2018 NFF Hampshire Honor Society, announced today by the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame.

The NFF Hampshire Honor Society is comprised of college football players from all divisions of play who each maintained a cumulative 3.2 GPA or better throughout their college careers. An all-time high 1,251 players from a record-tying 302 schools qualified for membership in the society's 12th year. Click the link above to see the full list of honorees.

"We are pleased to see another record number of athletes honored by the Hampshire Honor Society this year," said NFF President & CEO Steve Hatchell. "Over the past decade, it has become a powerful vehicle for schools to recognize their college football players who have distinguished themselves both academically and athletically, and we congratulate the schools and each of these young men for their commitment to excellence in all aspects of their lives."

Gleeson and Wunderlich, who were both staples to an Ole Miss special teams unit during their Rebel careers, were exceptional in the classroom. Gleeson, a native of Melbourne, Australia, maintains a 3.59 grade point average in accountancy. Wunderlich, who hails from Memphis, Tennessee, has a 3.20 GPA as a managerial finance major.

Polk finished his undergraduate degree in general studies with a 3.51 grade point average and maintains a 3.80 GPA in Ole Miss’ Masters of Arts in Teaching (MAT) program. The Magee, Mississippi, native finished the 2017 season with 39 tackles, including seven and a forced fumble in the Egg Bowl win over Mississippi State.

Past Ole Miss members of the Hampshire Honor Society include Nathan Noble (2017), Dillon Barrett (2016), Matt Brown (2016), Quintavius Burdette (2016), Deterrian Shackelford (2015), Tyler Campbell (2014), Chris Conley (2014), Andrew Ritter (2014), Joel Kight (2013) and Wesley Phillips (2011).

The NFF Hampshire Honor Society capitalizes on the NFF's National Scholar-Athlete program by greatly expanding the number of scholar-athletes the NFF can recognize each year. The program further strengthens the organization's leadership role in encouraging academic performance by the student-athletes at the 778 colleges and universities with football programs nationwide.

The 1,251 players honored in 2018 sets a new high water mark, eclipsing the previous record of 1,103 honorees in 2017. The 302 schools with members ties the previous mark also set in 2017.

The initiative has now honored 8,994 student-athletes since its inception, and the program has experienced growth every year in either members or school participation since its launch in 2007.

Qualifications for membership in the NFF Hampshire Honor Society include:

  • Completed their final year of playing eligibility in 2017 (or a senior who has declared for the NFL Draft) at an NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision, Football Championship Subdivision, Division II, Division III or an NAIA college or university;
  • Achieving a 3.2 cumulative grade point average throughout entire course of undergraduate study; and
  • Meeting all NCAA/NAIA-mandated progress towards degree requirements.
  • Follow Ole Miss Football on Twitter (@OleMissFB), Facebook and Instagram. For more information, visit






    • Loading Tweets...
      1 second ago