Freeze and Walls to Compete in 2016 Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl Challenge
Hugh Freeze drives during the 2015 Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl Challenge. (Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl/Abell Images/Paul Abell)
April 13, 2016

GREENSBORO, Ga. – Ole Miss football coach Hugh Freeze and former tight end and College Football Hall of Famer Wesley Walls will represent the Rebels in the ninth annual Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl Challenge charity golf tournament next month. The duo will compete for a share of a $540,000 total purse, and the team’s winnings will be split between the Hugh and Jill Freeze Foundation and an endowed scholarship at Ole Miss. 

The Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl Challenge features pairings that include a university head coach and a celebrity or former athlete from the same school competing in a scramble format against other university teams from around the country. In the past nine years, the event has provided $5.3 million in scholarship and charitable contributions.

Walls was enshrined in the College Football Hall of Fame in 2014. He was a first team All-American tight end and Academic All-American at Ole Miss in 1988 before enjoying a 15-year NFL career with the San Francisco 49ers, New Orleans Saints, Carolina Panthers and Green Bay Packers. He was a five-time Pro Bowl selection and three-time All-Pro choice at the highest level of football.

This year’s edition, set for May 1-3 at the Reynolds Lake Oconee resort outside Atlanta, is scheduled to feature 14 teams and top national coaches such as Freeze, Urban Meyer, Nick Saban, Dabo Swinney and many more. In special recognition of their coaching legacies, newly retired coaches Frank Beamer (Virginia Tech) and Steve Spurrier (South Carolina) will represent their former teams for the final time in this year’s event.

The field of competitors is scheduled to include three former winning teams including Paul Johnson and Jon Barry of Georgia Tech (2011, 2012, 2014, 2015), Spurrier and Sterling Sharpe from South Carolina (2008, 2009) and Beamer and Dell Curry of Virginia Tech (2007). Five of the participating coaches led their teams to New Year’s Six Bowl Games in the College Football Playoff last season, including Freeze, Saban and Swinney, the latter two facing off for the National Championship. The lineup includes three Heisman Trophy winners, four Dodd Trophy winners and two new teams from the University of Georgia and University of Houston.



Teams will be vying for the $100,000 first-place prize, with each team receiving a portion of the $540,000 purse. All charity payouts will be split equally between an endowed scholarship at each university and a charity of the coach’s choice.

The field of competitors for the featured event is projected to include:






Nick Saban

Chris Mohr



Gus Malzahn

Bo Jackson



Tommy Tuberville

J.K. Schaffer



Dabo Swinney

Steve Fuller



Kirby Smart

David Dukes

New participant

Georgia Tech

Paul Johnson

Jon Barry



Tom Herman

Andre Ware

New participant

Mississippi State

Dan Mullen

Fred McCrary


North Carolina

Larry Fedora

B.J. Surhoff


NC State

Dave Doeren

Terry Harvey


Ohio State

Urban Meyer

Jeff Logan


Ole Miss

Hugh Freeze

Wesley Walls


South Carolina

Steve Spurrier

Sterling Sharpe


Virginia Tech

Frank Beamer

Dell Curry


The tournament will be broadcast on ESPNU in August and December. Specific dates will be announced this summer.

For more information, visit

Follow Ole Miss Football on Twitter at @OleMissFB, as well as Facebook and Instagram. For more information, visit




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago