Freeze, Walls to Defend Title at Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl Challenge
April 20, 2017

GREENSBORO, Ga. – Ole Miss head coach Hugh Freeze and former tight end and College Football Hall of Famer Wesley Walls will defend their title at the 11th annual Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl Challenge charity golf tournament April 30-May 3. The duo will compete for a share of a $630,000 total purse, and the team’s winnings will be split between an endowed scholarship at Ole Miss and The Freeze Foundation. 

Freeze and Walls won last year’s event in clutch fashion by going 6-under par over the final five holes. The duo carded a final score of -11 to win $100,000 for Ole Miss and The Freeze Foundation.

The Freeze Foundation’s mission focuses on expressing God’s love by improving the quality of life for orphans and other disadvantaged individuals around the world. While the Freeze Foundation is especially geared toward children, the underlying goal is to help those who need it most. Whether it is a sick child in America or an orphan in Africa, the Freeze Foundation wants to make an impact. 

The nation’s premier head coach and celebrity golf event will be held at Reynolds Lake Oconee outside of Atlanta. Proceeds from the event benefit endowed scholarships at the participating universities and charitable foundations selected by the coaches. Since its creation in 2007, the event has contributed a total of $6 million in scholarship and charity, helping make the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl college football’s most charitable bowl game.

The Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl Challenge main event features pairings that include a university head coach and a former athlete from the same school competing in a scramble format against other university teams from around the country. The event will be broadcast on ESPN in August and December. Specific dates will be announced this summer.

The field of competitors is scheduled to include two former winning teams including Ole Miss and the four-time winning pair of Paul Johnson and Jon Barry of Georgia Tech (2011, 2012, 2014, 2015). The field includes two Heisman Trophy winners, six Dodd Trophy winners, and four new teams including Baylor, Florida and TCU. Representing the first-ever College Football Playoff (CFP) team will be former coaches and current CFP Selection Committee members Frank Beamer and Bobby Johnson.

The current field of competitors for the featured event is projected to include:

Alabama - Nick Saban, Mark Ingram
Auburn - Gus Malzahn, Al Del Greco
Baylor - Jim Grobe, David Crowder
Clemson - Dabo Swinney, Steve Fuller
Florida - Steve Spurrier, Shane Matthews
Georgia - Kirby Smart, David Dukes
Georgia Tech - Paul Johnson, Jon Barry
North Carolina - Larry Fedora, Roy Williams
NC State - Dave Doeren, Terry Harvey
Ole Miss - Hugh Freeze, Wesley Walls
TCU - Gary Patterson, LaDainian Tomlinson
Virginia Tech - Justin Fuente, Dell Curry
College Football Playoff - Frank Beamer, Bobby Johnson

For more information, visit

Follow Ole Miss Football on Twitter (@OleMissFB), Facebook and Instagram. For more information, visit






  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago