Three Rebels Make NFF Hampshire Honor Society
Matt Brown (87) and Dillon Barrett (83) celebrate a big play last fall. (photo by Joshua McCoy)
April 27, 2016

IRVING, Texas – Three graduating members of the Ole Miss football program – Dillon Barrett, Matt Brown and Quintavius Burdette – have been recognized as members of the 2016 NFF Hampshire Honor Society, announced by the National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame.

The NFF Hampshire Honor Society is comprised of college football players from all divisions of play who each maintained a cumulative 3.2 GPA or better throughout their college career. A total of 868 players from 275 schools qualified for membership as the society celebrates its 10th year, setting a new record for the number of players honored during the history of the program. 

“The number of colleges and universities who embrace the Hampshire Honor Society continues to increase each year,” said NFF President & CEO Steve Hatchell. “Over the past decade, it has become a powerful vehicle for schools to recognize their college football players who have distinguished themselves both academically and athletically, and we congratulate the schools and each of these young men for their commitment to excellence.”

Barrett and Brown, who both saw time at tight end during their Rebel careers, were exceptional in the classroom. Barrett, a native of Dry Prong, Louisiana, who transferred to Ole Miss from Lamar University, maintains a 3.56 grade point average in criminal justice. Brown, who hails from Cordova, Tennessee, has a 3.7 GPA as a chemical engineering major.

Burdette, a member of both the football and track teams at Ole Miss, maintains a 3.47 GPA as an accountancy major with a minor in general finance. The Senatobia, Mississippi, native who played wide receiver on the gridiron participated in a prestigious internship with accounting firm KPMG this semester.



Past Ole Miss members of the Hampshire Honor Society include Deterrian Shackelford (2015), Tyler Campbell (2014), Chris Conley (2014), Andrew Ritter (2014), Joel Kight (2013) and Wesley Phillips (2011).

The NFF Hampshire Honor Society capitalizes on the NFF's National Scholar-Athlete program by greatly expanding the number of scholar-athletes the NFF can recognize each year. The program further strengthens the organization's leadership role in encouraging academic performance by the student-athletes who play football at the 775 colleges and universities with football programs nationwide.

The 868 players honored in 2016 is a new high water mark, eclipsing the previous record of 838 honorees in 2014. The initiative has honored 6,620 student-athletes since its inception, and the program has experienced growth every year in either members or school participation since its launch in 2007.

Qualifications for membership in the NFF Hampshire Honor Society include:

  • Being a starter or a significant contributor in one's last year of eligibility (or a senior who has declared for the NFL Draft) at an NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision, Football Championship Subdivision, Division II, Division III or an NAIA college or university;
  • Achieving a 3.2 cumulative grade point average throughout entire course of undergraduate study; and
  • Meeting all NCAA/NAIA-mandated progress towards degree requirements.
Follow Ole Miss Football on Twitter at @OleMissFB, as well as Facebook and Instagram. For more information, visit




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago