Ole Miss Repeats At Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl Challenge
May 2, 2017

Photo Gallery

GREENSBORO, Ga. – Team Ole Miss closed out with five straight birdies to win the 2017 Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl Challenge by two strokes Tuesday at the Reynolds Lake Oconee Resort outside Atlanta.

Head Coach Hugh Freeze and celebrity partner Wesley Walls carded a final score of -11 to win the $100,000 first-place prize and their second consecutive Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl Challenge. Team Florida finished second with a score of -9, while the teams from Georgia and N.C. State tied for third at -8.

“It was a gorgeous day, and Wesley and I really played well together,” Freeze said. “We really never got in trouble. If I hit a bad one, Wesley hit a good one and vice versa.”

“When you’re going down the stretch and you need a six-footer for a birdie, Coach is the guy I want on my team,” said Walls, who is a College Football Hall of Fame tight end for the Rebels.

The Ole Miss victory marks the fourth time in the event’s history where teams won the tournament in consecutive years.

“This has been a wonderful week of fellowship, golf and charity,” said Gary Stokan, president and CEO of Peach Bowl, Inc. “Congratulations to Ole Miss’ Hugh Freeze and Wesley Walls for taking home the title for the second year in a row. We’re honored to donate $100,000 to them for university scholarships and the Hugh and Jill Freeze Foundation.”

Final official results from the 2017 Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl Challenge including total charity and scholarship winnings:

1  Ole Miss (Hugh Freeze, Wesley Walls), -11, $100,000
2  Florida (Steve Spurrier, Shane Matthews), -9, $ 80,000
3 (T)  Georgia (Kirby Smart, David Dukes), -8, $ 65,000
3 (T)  NC State (Dave Doeren, Terry Harvey), -8, $ 65,000
5  Alabama (Nick Saban, Mark Ingram), -7, $ 50,000
6  Baylor (Jim Grobe, David Crowder), -6, $ 40,000
7 (T)  TCU (Gary Patterson, LaDainian Tomlinson), -5, $ 27,500
7 (T)  Virginia Tech (Justin Fuente, Dell Curry), -5, $ 27,500
9 (T)  Auburn (Gus Malzahn, Al Del Greco), -4, $ 25,000
9 (T)  Cincinnati (Tommy Tuberville, Brendon Kay), -4, $ 25,000
11 (T)  Georgia Tech (Paul Johnson, Jon Barry), -3, $ 22,500             
11 (T)  North Carolina (Larry Fedora, Roy Williams), -3, $ 22,500
13  CFP (Frank Beamer, Bobby Johnson), -1, $ 20,000
14  Pittsburgh (Pat Narduzzi, Chris Doleman), +1, $ 20,000
15  Clemson (Dabo Swinney, Steve Fuller), +2, $ 20,000

Team winnings will be split evenly between endowed scholarships at the universities and foundations or charities of the coach’s choice. The Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl Challenge is the country’s premier head coach and celebrity charity golf event featuring NCAA head coaches and former athletes and celebrities from the same school competing against their rivals for a share of a $630,000 scholarship purse.

In addition to the $630,000 charity and scholarship purse, another $170,000 was generated for charitable organizations bringing the 2017 total to $800,000 in charitable giving. Since its creation in 2007, the event has contributed a total of $6.8 million in scholarship and charity, helping make the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl college football’s most charitable bowl game.

Past Champions:
Year, Team, Score, Margin
2017    Ole Miss (Hugh Freeze, Wesley Walls), -11, 2 strokes
2016    Ole Miss (Hugh Freeze, Wesley Walls), -11, 2 strokes
2015    Georgia Tech (Paul Johnson, Jon Barry), -9, 1 (Playoff)
2014    Georgia Tech (Paul Johnson, Jon Barry), -13, 4 strokes
2013    Miami (Al Golden, Gino Torretta), -11, 1 stroke
2012    Georgia Tech (Paul Johnson, Jon Barry), -10, 1 stroke
2011    Georgia Tech (Paul Johnson, Jon Barry), -11, 3 strokes
2010    Florida State (Jimbo Fisher, Terrell Buckley), -7, 1 stroke
2009    South Carolina (Steve Spurrier, Sterling Sharpe), -12, 1 (Playoff)
2008    South Carolina (Steve Spurrier, Sterling Sharpe), -12, 5 strokes
2007    Virginia Tech (Frank Beamer, Dell Curry), -10, 1 stroke






  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago