Conyers Named to Rimington Trophy Watch List
Robert Conyers (photo by Joshua McCoy)
May 17, 2016

OXFORD, Miss. - Ole Miss senior Robert Conyers is one of eight Southeastern Conference players and 57 total players that have been included on the 2016 Spring Watch List for the Rimington Trophy. The award is presented annually to college football's best center by the Rimington Trophy Committee.

Click here for the complete 2016 Rimington Trophy Spring Watch List.

A native of Miami, Florida, Conyers is a three-year letterman for the Rebels. He has played 24 games with eight starts, including five starts at center last year before going down with a torn ACL at Memphis. He has helped Ole Miss reach a bowl game in each of his three seasons and New Year's Six bowl berths each of the last two. His blocking has contributed to record-setting offensive performances and big victories like the 2014 wins over No. 1 Alabama, No. 4 Mississippi State and No. 14 Texas A&M, as well as the 2015 win at No. 2 Alabama.

The Rimington Trophy committee uses three prestigious All-America teams to determine its winner after the conclusion of the season: Walter Camp Foundation, Sporting News, Football Writers Association of America. Because the selectors of these three All-America teams can place centers in a "mix" of offensive linemen that includes guards and tackles, their 11-man first teams can often have two centers. The Rimington Trophy committee's policy is to count all players that play primarily the center position for their respective teams, even though they may be listed as guards or tackles on the All- America teams.

The center with the most first-team votes will be determined the winner. If there is a tie with first-team votes, then the center with the most second-team votes will win. If there is still a tie, the winner will be determined by a majority vote from the Rimington Trophy committee. The winner will be recognized at the Rimington Trophy Presentation at the Rococo Theatre in Lincoln, Nebraska, on Saturday, January 14, 2017.




About the Rimington Trophy

The Rimington Trophy is presented annually to the Most Outstanding Center in NCAA Division I-A College Football. Since its inception, the Rimington Trophy has raised over $2.6 million for the cystic fibrosis community. The award is overseen by the Boomer Esiason Foundation, which is committed to finding a cure for cystic fibrosis and has raised over $120 million for the fight against cystic fibrosis.

Dave Rimington, the award's namesake, was a consensus first-team All-America center at the University of Nebraska in 1981 and 1982, during which time he became the John Outland Trophy's only double winner as the nation's finest college interior lineman.

For more on the Rimington Trophy and a list of past recipients, visit


About the NCFAA

The Rimington Trophy is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA), which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. Visit to learn more.

Follow Ole Miss Football on Twitter at @OleMissFB, as well as Facebook and Instagram. For more information, visit




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago