Rawlings Named to Rimington Trophy Watch List
May 30, 2018

2018 Rimington Trophy Watch List

- Ole Miss senior Sean Rawlings has been named to the spring watch list for the 2018 Rimington Trophy, which honors the top center in Division I FBS college football.

Announced by the Rimington Trophy Committee on Monday, the watch list has 57 centers, including at least one from every FBS conference.

Rawlings, from Madison, Mississippi, has played in 32 games with 26 starts over the first three seasons of his Ole Miss career. He started 11 games last year at center, only missing the Arkansas game due to injury. As a sophomore, Rawlings started seven games at right tackle and one at center. He was an SEC All-Freshman pick by Gridironnow.com in 2015 when he started seven games at right tackle and helped the Rebels return to the Sugar Bowl for the first time since 1970.

Other SEC centers joining Rawlings on the Rimington Watch List are Lamont Gaillard (Georgia), Elgton Jenkins (Mississippi State), Erik McCoy (Texas A&M), T.J. McCoy (Florida) and Donell Stanley (South Carolina).

While more than a dozen All-America teams are selected annually, the Rimington Trophy committee used these three prestigious teams to determine a winner:

  • Walter Camp Foundation
  • Sporting News
  • Football Writers Association of America

Because the selectors of these three All-America teams can place centers in a "mix" of offensive linemen that includes guards and tackles, their 11-man first teams can often have two centers. The Rimington Trophy committee's policy is to count all players that play primarily the center position for their respective teams as centers, even though they may be listed as guards or tackles on the All-America teams.

The center with the most first-team votes will be determined the winner. If there is a tie with first-team votes, then the center with the most second-team votes will win. If there is still a tie, the winner will be determined by a majority vote from the Rimington Trophy committee. The winner will be recognized at the Rimington Trophy Presentation at the Rococo Theatre in Lincoln, Nebraska, on Saturday, January 12, 2019.

About the Rimington Trophy
The Rimington Trophy is presented annually to the Most Outstanding Center in NCAA Division I FBS College Football. Since its inception, the seventeen-year old award has raised over $3.6 million for the Boomer Esiason Foundation, which is committed to finding a cure for cystic fibrosis. Dave Rimington, the award's namesake, was a consensus first team All-American center at the University of Nebraska in 1981 and 1982, during which time he became the Outland Trophy's only double winner as the nation's finest college interior lineman.

For more on the Rimington Trophy and a list of past recipients, visit www.rimingtontrophy.com.

About the NCFAA
The Rimington Trophy is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA), which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 23 awards boast 765 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit www.NCFAA.org to learn more.

Follow the Rebels
Follow Ole Miss Football on Twitter (@OleMissFB), Facebook and Instagram. For more information, visit www.OleMissSports.com.






  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago