Rebels To Attend SEC Joint SAAC, Leadership Council Meeting
July 6, 2017

BIRMINGHAM – Five Ole Miss student athletes, including quarterback Shea Patterson, will join other Southeastern Conference student athletes in a joint meeting of the SEC Student-Athlete Leadership Councils and the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) Friday through Sunday in Birmingham.

This marks the first joint meeting of these groups since Commissioner Greg Sankey introduced them in 2016. Leadership councils for the sports of football and men’s and women’s basketball were created to provide student-athletes with additional opportunities to engage with campus leaders and conference office staff. 

Other Ole Miss student-athletes that will also make the trip to Birmingham include Alex Schneider from softball, Beau Briggs from the Ole Miss men’s golf team who will represent Ole Miss’ SAAC group, along with Breein Tyree and Shandricka Sessom who are members of the men and women’s basketball leadership councils.

Twenty-eight SAAC representatives will begin the three-day meeting on Friday afternoon. The student-athletes will participate in a presentation by Josh Foliart of Growing Leaders, and they will also have an opportunity to share programming ideas from their respective on-campus committees.

Saturday’s schedule includes a meeting with Commissioner Sankey, who will lead a discussion on a variety of topics chosen by the student-athletes. Former student-athletes Chris Draft and Freddie Scott II will also speak to the group, and SEC Assistant Commissioner Matt Boyer will review the SEC and NCAA governance structure and approved legislation for the 2017-18 school year.

Saturday afternoon the group will participate in community service projects at the Community Food Bank of Central Alabama and the American Cancer Society Hope Lodge. The Community Food Bank operates as a central clearinghouse for collecting food, and it serves 12 counties in Alabama. Hope Lodge offers free lodging to cancer patients and their families, and it also provides a variety of resources and information about cancer and how best to fight the disease.

The meeting will conclude on Sunday with an emphasis on career development. SEC Director of Student-Athlete Engagement Misty Brown and Jametta K. White will address the group. 

Student-athletes attending the meeting include:

SAAC Representatives:
Will Herrscher and Emma Welch (Alabama), Noah Edmondson and Bette Poblete (Arkansas), Foster Ballard and Samanatha Cerio (Auburn), Courtney Douglas and Harry Glasser (Florida), John Courson and Aliyah Johnson (Georgia), Courtney Love and Katie Reed (Kentucky), Kylie Moran and Riley Young (LSU), Beau Briggs and Alex Schneider (Ole Miss), Khristian Carr and Gabe Myles (Mississippi State), Chase Brennan and Rylee Pierce (Missouri), Travis Morrin and Simone Wark (South Carolina), Micah Bohon and Ari Cogdell (Tennessee), Bobby Grant and Laura Norman (Texas A&M) and Samuel DeFabrizio and Kara Lucenti (Vanderbilt)

Football Leadership Council Representatives:
Josh Casher (Alabama), T.J. Smith (Arkansas), Derrick Brown (Auburn), Martez Ivey (Florida), Aaron Davis (Georgia), Greg Hart (Kentucky), Danny Etling (LSU), Shea Patterson (Ole Miss), Gerri Green (Mississippi State), Damarea Crockett (Missouri), Bryson Allen-Williams (South Carolina), Micah Abernathy (Tennessee) and Erik McCoy (Texas A&M)

Men’s Basketball Leadership Council Representatives:
Daniel Giddens (Alabama), Adrio Bailey (Arkansas), Anfernee McLemore (Auburn), Kevarrius Hayes (Florida), Connor O’Neil (Georgia), Dillon Pulliam (Kentucky), Skylar Mays (LSU), Breein Tyree (Ole Miss), Mitchell Storm (Mississippi State), Terrence Phillips (Missouri), Maik Kotsar (South Carolina), Kyle Alexander (Tennessee), Admon Gilder (Texas A&M) and Larry Austin (Vanderbilt)

Women’s Basketball Leadership Council Representatives:
Hannah Cook (Alabama), Jailyn Mason (Arkansas), Janiah McKay (Auburn), Haley Lorenzen (Florida), Taja Cole (Georgia), Alyssa Rice (Kentucky), Jaelyn Richard-Harris (LSU), Shandricka Sessom (Ole Miss), Blair Schaefer (Mississippi State), Jordan Frericks (Missouri), A’Ja Wilson (South Carolina), Mercedes Russell (Tennessee), Danni Williams (Texas A&M) and Christa Reed (Vanderbilt).

About The Presenters
Chris Draft is former NCAA student-athlete who spent 13 years playing in the National Football League. Through its primary initiatives, the Chris Draft Foundation stresses the importance of education, healthy lifestyles, character development, personal responsibility, self-discipline and physical fitness. 

Josh Foliart is a former student-athlete at the University of Arkansas. His focus has been on launching and growing MULTIPLi, a non-profit with a purpose of training and equipping 500 leaders from around the world.

Freddie Scott II serves as president of Unlock the Champion, a non-profit organization committed to leadership development and empowering people to understand and maximize their influence by knowing their worth and leading with values.

Ole Miss Student-Athlete Development Mission

The mission of Ole Miss’ Student-Athlete Development program is to challenge student-athletes to be lifelong learners while pursuing continuous improvement academically, relationally, socially, personally, and professionally during and beyond their careers as student-athletes.






  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago