Javon Patterson is Ole Miss Nominee for Allstate AFCA Good Works Team
Javon Patterson reads to elementary students in Oxford.
July 10, 2017

NORTHBROOK, Ill. – Ole Miss junior offensive lineman Javon Patterson is among the nominees for the 2017 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team®, announced Monday by the American Football Coaches Association.

Since 1992, the Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® has brought together a select group of college football players from across the country to honor their dedication to volunteerism and enriching the lives of others. 

A native of Petal, Mississippi, Patterson has been heavily involved in the Oxford community since arriving to Ole Miss in spring 2015. He has mentored children with the Marks Project and Reading with the Rebels programs, has helped local families with meals at holiday time, visited patients in hospitals, assisted with flood relief in Baton Rouge and South Carolina, volunteered with a blood drive and a “Caps for Kids” program. He is also a member of the NCAA Division I Football Recruiting Ad Hoc Working Group.

On the field, Patterson has been a valuable starter in the interior of the offensive line during his first two seasons in the Red and Blue. He was the only Rebel lineman to start every game last season (nine at left guard, three at center), while helping the Rebels lead the SEC in passing yards and achieve big wins over No. 11 Georgia and No. 8 Texas A&M. As a true freshman in 2015, his efforts contributed to the Rebels shattering most of the single-season offensive records and making the school’s first Sugar Bowl appearance (and win) since 1970.

“After looking at the bios of the 146 nominees we received for 2017 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team, it really shows that there are great football student-athletes all over this country who just don’t care what happens between the sidelines, but they also care about their community and giving back to others,” Todd Berry, AFCA Executive Director said. “The AFCA has been proud to partner with Allstate these past 10 years to honor football players who give more of themselves to help others in need.”

Comprised of 11 players from the NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision and 11 players from the NCAA Football Championship Subdivision, Divisions II, III and the NAIA, the final roster of 22 award recipients will be unveiled in September. From the nominees submitted by sports information directors across the nation on behalf of their schools, a special voting panel consisting of former Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® members and prominent college football media members will select the 2017 Good Works Team®. Two-time national champion, Heisman Trophy winner and 2009 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® member Tim Tebow will headline the Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® voting panel.

“As a former Good Works Team member, I’m proud to join Allstate for the second year in a row to recognize student-athletes who share my passion for making a difference,” says Tebow. “This award shines a light on the good works players are doing off the field and in the community, and the lives that they're changing. 

In addition to Tebow and Clarkson, the 2017 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® selection panel members includes: former Good Works Team® members Zaid Abdul-Aleem (Duke, 1994 team), Matt Stinchcomb (Georgia, 1997, 1998 teams), Brian Brenberg (St. Thomas, 2001 team), Mike Proman (Amherst, 2002 team) and Wes Counts (Middle Tennessee State, 1999 team); media members Kirk Herbstreit (ESPN), Blair Kerkhoff (Kansas City Star) and Paul Myerberg (USA TODAY); current AFCA President and University of Arizona head coach Rich Rodriguez; 2001 AFCA President and current athletic director at Virginia Union University Joe Taylor.

Once the final team members are announced in September, college football fans are encouraged to visit the Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® website on ESPN.com, featuring profiles and images of the players, for the opportunity to vote for the 2017 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® Captain. Throughout the season, fans can also follow along and join in on the conversation by searching and using #GoodWorksTeam on their social media channels.

In order to meet the criteria set forth by Allstate and the AFCA, each player must be actively involved with a charitable organization or service group while maintaining a strong academic standing.

Ole Miss’ Deterrian Shackelford was voted team captain of the 2014 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® and is one of eight Rebels to make the squad, including NFL standouts Deuce McAllister (1999) and Eli Manning (2002).

Follow Ole Miss Football on Twitter (@OleMissFB), Facebook and Instagram. For more information, visit www.OleMissSports.com.






  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago