Rawlings Named to Rimington Trophy Fall Watch List

July 11, 2017

2017 Rimington Trophy Fall Watch List

OXFORD, Miss. - Ole Miss junior Sean Rawlings has been named to the fall watch list for the 2017 Rimington Trophy, announced Tuesday.

The Rimington Trophy recognizes the best center in Division I college football. In order to create this list, the Rimington Trophy committee accepted nominations from programs across the country that submitted their current starting centers for consideration.

Rawlings, who hails from Madison, Mississippi, has played in 21 games with 15 starts over the first two seasons of his Ole Miss career. He started seven games at right tackle and one at center a year ago and is a favorite to be the team's full-time center entering his junior campaign. He was an SEC All-Freshman pick by Gridironnow.com in 2015 when he started seven games at right tackle and helped the Rebels return to the Sugar Bowl for the first time since 1970.

He is one of eight SEC centers and 70 total men on the watch list.

While more than a dozen All-America teams are selected annually, the Rimington Trophy committee uses these three prestigious teams to determine a winner:

  • Walter Camp Foundation (WCF)
  • Sporting News (SN)
  • Football Writers Association of America (FWAA)

Because the selectors of these three All-America teams can place centers in a "mix" of offensive linemen that includes guards and tackles, their 11-man first teams can often have two centers. The Rimington Trophy committee's policy is to count all players that play primarily the center position for their respective teams as centers, even though they may be listed as guards or tackles on the All- America teams.

The center with the most first-team votes will be determined the winner. If there is a tie with first-team votes, then the center with the most second-team votes will win. If there is still a tie, the winner will be determined by a majority vote from the Rimington Trophy committee. The winner will be recognized at the Rimington Trophy Presentation at the Rococo Theatre in Lincoln, Nebraska on Saturday, January 13, 2018.

About the Rimington Trophy
The Rimington Trophy is presented annually to the Most Outstanding Center in NCAA Division FBS College Football. Since its inception, the Rimington Trophy has raised over $2.9 million for the cystic fibrosis community. The award is overseen by the Boomer Esiason Foundation, which is committed to finding a cure for cystic fibrosis and has raised over $130 million for the fight against cystic fibrosis.

Dave Rimington, the award's namesake, was a consensus first team All-American center at the University of Nebraska in 1981 and 1982, during which time he became the Outland Trophy's only double winner as the nation's finest college interior lineman.

For more on the Rimington Trophy and a list of past recipients, visit www.rimingtontrophy.com.

About the NCFAA
The Rimington Trophy is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA), which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 23 awards boast 765 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit www.NCFAA.org to learn more.

Follow Ole Miss Football on Twitter (@OleMissFB), Facebook and Instagram. For more information, visit www.OleMissSports.com.






  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago