Haynes Named to Nagurski Trophy Watch List
July 13, 2017

2017 Bronko Nagurski Trophy Watch List

- Entering his final season as a Rebel, Ole Miss senior defensive lineman Marquis Haynes found his name on the watch list for the Bronko Nagurski Trophy announced Thursday morning. Haynes has made the watch list for the second straight year for the award given annually to the best defensive player in college football.

The Nagurski Trophy Watch List is made up of 103 defensive standouts throughout the country, and Haynes is one of 14 players from the Southeastern Conference on the list. The defensive end landed on the watch list for the Bednarik Award earlier this week.

Haynes, the winner of the 2017 Chucky Mullins Courage Award, has been a consistent threat in opposing teams' backfields since his freshman year in 2014 when he helped Ole Miss finish as the nation's No. 1 scoring defense. The Jacksonville, Florida, native ranks third in school history with 24.5 career sacks and fourth with 36.5 tackles for loss entering his senior year. Haynes has led the Rebels in sacks all three years (7.5 in 2014, 10 in 2015, 7 in 2016), while earning All-SEC honors twice (2015, 2016).

Players may be added or removed from the watch list during the course of the season. As in previous seasons, the FWAA will announce a National Defensive Player of the Week each Tuesday throughout the season. If not already on the watch list, each week's honored player will be added at that time.

The FWAA and the Charlotte Touchdown Club will announce five finalists for the 2017 Bronko Nagurski Trophy on Nov. 16. The Nagurski Trophy winner will be chosen from those five finalists. The FWAA All-America Committee, after voting input from the association's full membership, selects a 26-man All-America Team and eventually the Nagurski Trophy finalists. Committee members, by individual ballot, select the winner they regard as the best defensive player in college football. The award will be presented at the annual Bronko Nagurski Trophy Banquet on Dec. 4 at the Charlotte Convention Center.



The FWAA has chosen a National Defensive Player of the Year since 1993. In 1995, the FWAA named the award in honor of the legendary two-way player from the University of Minnesota. Nagurski dominated college football, then became a star for professional football's Chicago Bears in the 1930s. Bronislaw "Bronko" Nagurski is a charter member of both the College Football and Pro Football Halls of Fame.

For the latest updates on Ole Miss Football, follow the Rebels on Twitter (@OleMissFB), Facebook and Instagram. For more information, visit www.OleMissSports.com.




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago