Shea Patterson Named to O’Brien Award Watch List
July 19, 2017

FORT WORTH, Texas – Ole Miss sophomore quarterback Shea Patterson is one of 30 quarterbacks named to the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award watch list, the Davey O’Brien Foundation announced Wednesday morning.

Patterson was previously named to the Maxwell Award watch list this offseason after a stellar performance in three starts as a freshman. In his collegiate debut, Patterson led the Rebels to an upset road win over No. 8 Texas A&M, directing a second-half comeback for the 29-28 victory. In three contests, he averaged 293.3 passing yards and 56.3 rushing yards per game and totaled six touchdowns with three interceptions.

The Shreveport, Louisiana, native makes four O’Brien Award watch list nominations for Ole Miss since 2013. Bo Wallace earned a nomination in 2013 and 2014, and he was a semifinalist for the award in 2014. Chad Kelly was nominated and was a semifinalist as well last season.

Two returning O’Brien Award finalists—Lamar Jackson of Louisville and Baker Mayfield of Oklahoma—have returned to this year’s watch list.

Patterson is one of six Southeastern Conference quarterbacks to be named, alongside Austin Allen of Arkansas, South Carolina’s Jake Bentley, Jacob Eason of Georgia, Nick Fitzgerald of Mississippi State and Alabama’s Jalen Hurts. The SEC’s six nominations lead all conferences.

Ole Miss’ rising sophomore was one of just eight quarterbacks from his class on the list. Juniors and seniors, with 11 nominations apiece, accounted for 22 of the 30 nominees.

Fans are invited to take part O’Brien Award voting at Results from the fan vote will be combined with the ballots from the Selection Committee. Fan voting begins Tuesday, Sept. 5. The winner will be announced at the 41st Annual Davey O’Brien Awards Dinner on Monday, Feb. 19, 2018, in Fort Worth.



2017 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award Watch List
Austin Allen (Arkansas, Sr., Fayetteville, Ark.)
Josh Allen (Wyoming, Jr., Firebaugh, Calif.)
J.T. Barrett (Ohio State, Sr., Wichita Falls, Texas)
Jake Bentley (South Carolina, So., Opelika, Ala.)
Jake Browning (Washington, Jr., Granite Bay, Calif.)
Shane Buechele (Texas, So., Arlington, Texas)
Sam Darnold (USC, So., Capistrano Beach, Calif.)
Eric Dungey (Syracuse, Jr., Lake Oswego, Ore.)
Jacob Eason (Georgia, So., Lake Stevens, Wash.)
Jesse Ertz (Kansas State, Sr., Burlington, Iowa)
Luke Falk (Washington State, Sr., Logan, Utah)
Riley Ferguson (Memphis, Sr., Matthews, N.C.)
Nick Fitzgerald (Mississippi State, Jr., Richmond Hill, Ga.)
Quinton Flowers (USF, Sr., Miami, Fla.)
Deondre Francois (Florida State, So., Orlando, Fla.)
Jalen Hurts (Alabama, So., Houston, Texas)
Lamar Jackson (Louisville, Jr., Pompano Beach, Fla.)
Daniel Jones (Duke, So., Charlotte, N.C.)
Tanner Mangum (BYU, Jr., Eagle, Idaho)
Baker Mayfield (Oklahoma, Sr., Austin, Texas)
Trace McSorley (Penn State, Jr., Ashburn, Va.)
Shea Patterson (Ole Miss, So., Shreveport, La.)
Josh Rosen (UCLA, Jr., Manhattan Beach, Calif.)
Mason Rudolph (Oklahoma State, Sr., Rock Hill, S.C.)
Brett Rypien (Boise State, Jr., Spokane, Wash.)
Brandon Silvers (Troy, Sr., Orange Beach, Ala.)
Wilton Speight (Michigan, Jr., Richmond, Va.)
Brent Stockstill (Middle Tennessee, Jr., Murfreesboro, Tenn.)
Mike White (Western Kentucky, Sr., Fort Lauderdale, Fla.)
Logan Woodside (Toledo, Sr., Frankfurt, Ky.)

Follow Ole Miss Football on Twitter (@OleMissFB), Facebook and Instagram. For more information, visit 




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago