Ta’amu Named to Polynesian Player of the Year Watch List
Aug. 9, 2018

HONOLULU, Hawaii – Ole Miss senior quarterback Jordan Ta’amu has been named to the 2018 Polynesian College Football Player of the Year Watch List, the Polynesian Football Hall of Fame announced on Thursday.

The Award is presented annually to the most outstanding Polynesian college football player that epitomizes great ability and integrity. The Watch List is composed of 50 players from 34 different FBS schools.

Ta’amu, a senior from Pearl City, Hawaii, played in eight games last season for Ole Miss, starting the last five. He ended the year 115-of-173 for 1,682 yards and 11 touchdowns, including three-straight starts with 365 yards or more passing to start his Ole Miss career.

Ta’amu became the only Ole Miss QB to ever throw for 350 yards or more in back-to-back SEC games, as he put up a 368-yard outing vs. Arkansas, followed by 382 yards passing on the road at Kentucky.

The winner of the 2018 Polynesian College Football Player of the Year Award will be announced on Dec. 14, 2018. Five finalists will be unveiled on Dec. 5. The presentation of the Award will be held during the Polynesian Football Hall of Fame Enshrinement Week Celebration Dinner (Sheraton Waikiki) and they will also be recognized at halftime of the Polynesian Bowl at Aloha Stadium.

Former University of Oregon, and current Tennessee Titans Quarterback, Marcus Mariota was selected as the inaugural recipient of the Award in 2014; former University of Notre Dame, and current Baltimore Ravens Offensive Lineman, Ronnie Stanley received the award in 2015; former University of Colorado Quarterback Sefo Liufau received the award in 2016; and former Washington State University, and current Minnesota Vikings Defensive End Hercules Mata`afa received the award last year.

Follow Ole Miss Football on Twitter (@OleMissFB), Facebook and Instagram.






  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago