Haynes Tabbed to Hendricks Award Watch List
Aug. 21, 2017

OXFORD, Miss. – With a highly anticipated senior year just around the corner, Ole Miss’ Marquis Haynes has been racking up preseason watch list mentions. He added another this week when he made the list for the Ted Hendricks Award, presented annually to college football’s best defensive end. 

The initial list for the 16th edition of the award, which includes 34 of the nation’s best defensive players, will be adjusted as the 2017 season progresses and will remain open to additions and subtractions until the selection committee casts its first vote in late November. The winner will be revealed Dec. 6.

Haynes is one of seven SEC players on the watch list, including McTelvin Agim (Arkansas), Marlon Davidson (Auburn), Marcell Frazier (Missouri), Da’Shawn Hand (Alabama), CeCe Jefferson (Florida) and Jabari Zuniga (Florida).

Haynes, the winner of the 2017 Chucky Mullins Courage Award, has been a consistent threat in opposing teams' backfields since his freshman year in 2014 when he helped Ole Miss finish as the nation's No. 1 scoring defense. The Jacksonville, Florida, native ranks third in school history with 24.5 career sacks and fourth with 36.5 tackles for loss entering his senior year. Haynes has led the Rebels in sacks all three years (7.5 in 2014, 10 in 2015, 7 in 2016), while earning All-SEC honors twice (2015, 2016).

He has also been included on watch lists for the Bednarik and Nagurski awards.

The Ted Hendricks Award is named in honor of college football’s first three-time first-team All-American. On-field performance, exceptional winning attitude, leadership abilities, contributions to school and community and academic preparedness are some of the criteria used to determine the Award’s winner. Members of the national media, head coaches, professional scouts and former winners are included in the Award’s voting committee. Candidates may represent any class (freshman through senior) as well as any four-year NCAA accredited school. The candidate’s primary position must be defensive end.

2017 Hendricks Preseason Watch List
McTelvin Agim, Arkansas
Dorance Armstrong, Kansas
Nick Bosa, Ohio State
Andrew Brown, Virginia
Brian Burns, Florida State
Bradley Chubb, NC State
Aikeem Coleman, Idaho
Marlon Davidson, Auburn
Duke Ejofor, Wake Forest
Jaylon Ferguson, Louisiana Tech
Clelin Ferrell, Clemson
Kyle Fitts, Utah
Marcell Frazier, Missouri
Rashan Gary, Michigan
Rasheem Green, USC
Da’Shawn Hand, Alabama
Marquis Haynes, Ole Miss
Sam Hubbard, Ohio State
CeCe Jefferson, Florida
Harold Landry, Boston College
Justin Lawler, SMU
Tyquan Lewis, Ohio State
James Looney, California
Hercules Mata’afa, Washington State
Malik Reed, Nevada
Malcolm Roach, Texas
Ja’Von Rolland-Jones, Arkansas State
Conor Sheehy, Wisconsin
K.J. Smith, Baylor
Josh Sweat, Florida State
Chad Thomas, Miami
Reggie Walker, Kansas State
JoJo Wicker, Arizona State
Jabari Zuniga, Florida

Follow Ole Miss Football on Twitter (@OleMissFB), Facebook and Instagram. For more information, visit www.OleMissSports.com.





  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago