Evan Engram Added to Biletnikoff Award Watch List
Evan Engram (photo by Joshua McCoy)
Sept. 27, 2016

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – Ole Miss senior tight end Evan Engram has been added to the watch list for the 2016 Biletnikoff Award, the Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation announced Tuesday.

Engram, who leads all the nation’s tight ends with 26 catches and 397 receiving yards so far this season, is one of eight players who were added to the watch list. The other seven are wide receivers (Northwestern’s Austin Carr, Wyoming’s Tanner Gentry, Tulsa’s Keevan Lucas, Missouri’s J’Mon Moore, Utah’s Tim Patrick, North Carolina’s Ryan Switzer and UConn’s Noel Thomas).

Engram is tied for the SEC lead and 13th nationally among all players with 6.5 receptions per game, while his 99.2 receiving yards per game are third-most in the league and 19th in the country. He also has three touchdown catches, grabbing one each in games against No. 4 Florida State, No. 1 Alabama and No. 11 Georgia.

The Biletnikoff Award annually recognizes the outstanding receiver in college football. Any player, regardless of position (tight end, slot receiver and back, inside receiver, wide receiver, split end, and running back) who catches a pass is eligible for the award. As such, the Biletnikoff Award recognizes the outstanding receiver, not merely outstanding wide receiver.

Recently, the Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation opened the 2016 FanVote and FanForum. Every fan may vote once daily on the Biletnikoff Award FanVote page. The aggregate fan tally will be counted as one official vote to determine semifinalists (10 receivers), finalists (three) and the winner. In the closest contest in years, the FanVote tally provided the one-vote margin of victory for 2013 winner Brandin Cooks of Oregon State. The Biletnikoff Award FanForum consists of fan-created discussion topics that allow sports fans to voice their opinions.

To access the Biletnikoff Award FanVote, go to http://biletnikoffaward.com/fan-vote.

To access the Biletnikoff Award FanForum Discussion Board, go to http://www.biletnikoffaward.com/forum.

The Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation, Inc., will announce the 10 Biletnikoff Award semifinalists on November 14, 2016, following the vote by the members of the Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee. Likewise, the three finalists will be declared, following another vote, on November 22, 2016. For complete details and updates of interest, together with weekly statistics and timely, important news of the Biletnikoff Award candidates, as well as the FanVote and FanForum discussion board, please consult the Foundation's highly informative website at www.biletnikoffaward.com.

The 2016 Biletnikoff Award winner will be presented live on December 8, 2016, on The Home Depot College Football Awards Show to be broadcast 7:00 - 9:00pm (EST) on ESPN. College Football Hall of Famer and Heisman Trophy winner Desmond Howard will present the 2016 Biletnikoff Award winner on the show. Howard is one of only five ends or receivers who has won the Heisman Trophy, joining Larry Kelley, Leon Hart, Johnny Rodgers and Tim Brown.

Follow Ole Miss Football on Twitter (@OleMissFB), Facebook and Instagram. For more information, visit www.OleMissSports.com.






  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago