Terrence Metcalf Named to 2017 SEC Football Legends Class
Oct. 10, 2017

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – Former Ole Miss All-American offensive lineman Terrence Metcalf is one of 14 members of the 2017 Southeastern Conference Football Legends class, a collection of former football standouts who will be honored at events surrounding the SEC Football Championship Game in Atlanta in December.

The 2017 Football Legends Class includes 14 former stars who excelled on the gridiron and helped write the rich history of the sport at their respective institutions. This year’s class includes All-Americans, All-SEC selections and Academic All-Americans. The group represents teams that won National and SEC Championships and are represented in state, school and college football halls of fame.

The class will be honored at the 2017 SEC Football “Weekend of Champions” Dec. 1-2 in Atlanta, Ga.  The annual SEC Legends Dinner presented by AT&T will be held Fri., Dec. 1 at the Hyatt Regency in Atlanta and the group will also be recognized prior to the SEC Football Championship Game, which will be held at the new Mercedes-Benz Stadium on Sat., Dec. 2.

Below is a listing of the 2017 SEC Football Legends, and a biography on Metcalf:


ALABAMA – Gene Stallings, Head Coach, 1990-96
ARKANSAS – Dan Hampton, Defensive Tackle, 1975-78
AUBURN – Carlos Rogers, Defensive Back, 2001-04
FLORIDA – Danny Wuerffel, Quarterback, 1993-96
GEORGIA – Roland “Champ” Bailey, Defensive Back, 1996-98
KENTUCKY – Nate Northington, Defensive Back, 1966-67
LSU – Glenn Dorsey, Defensive Tackle, 2004-07
OLE MISS – Terrence Metcalf, Offensive Line, 1997, 1999-2001
Ole Miss offensive lineman Terrence Metcalf was one of the best offensive linemen ever to suit up in the Rebel Red and Blue.  Metcalf was a consensus All-American in 2001 after receiving first-team honors from Walter Camp, the American Football Coaches Association, Football News and the All-America Football Foundation. He was selected the 2001 SEC Most Valuable Lineman and played in the 2002 Senior Bowl. The Clarksdale, Mississippi, native was a four-year starter, a two-time All-SEC choice and a two-time All-America selection as a left guard and left tackle. He helped Ole Miss to three bowl appearances before being taken in the third round of the 2002 NFL Draft and playing seven seasons with the Chicago Bears. He is now coaching at Pearl River Community College, and his son D.K. is a wide receiver on the Ole Miss team.
MISSISSIPPI STATE - Floyd “Pork Chop” Womack, Offensive Line, 1997-2000
MISSOURI – Brad Smith, Quarterback, 2002-05
SOUTH CAROLINA – John Abraham, Outside Linebacker, 1996-99
TENNESSEE – Chad Clifton, Offensive Line, 1995-99
TEXAS A&M – Dave Elmendorf, Defensive Back, 1968-70
VANDERBILT – Don Orr, Quarterback/Safety, 1954-56

Follow Ole Miss Football on Twitter (@OleMissFB), Facebook and Instagram in addition to www.OleMissSports.com.






  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago