Engram Tabbed to Mackey Award Midseason Watch List
Team captain Evan Engram (photo by Petre Thomas)
Oct. 12, 2016

2016 John Mackey Award Midseason Watch List

NEW YORK -- After a sensational first half of the season, Ole Miss senior Evan Engram has been included on the midseason watch list for the 2016 John Mackey Award, which is given annually to the most outstanding collegiate tight end.

Engram is one of 30 players on the midseason watch list. He is joined by fellow Southeastern Conference tight ends CJ Conrad of Kentucky, DeAndre Goolsby of Florida, OJ Howard of Alabama, Hayden Hurst of South Carolina and Jeremy Sprinkle of Arkansas.

A four-year starter and two-year captain for the Rebels, Engram currently leads all tight ends nationally with 30 catches and 479 receiving yards, even after the Ole Miss bye week. He's already the school's all-time leader in career catches and yards by a tight end and needs two more touchdown catches to take over the school record in that category as well.

With an SEC-best 95.8 receiving yards per game, Engram is the only tight end in the country averaging better than 80 yards per outing. He has scored a touchdown in four of five games (vs. No. 4 Florida State, No. 1 Alabama, No. 11 Georgia and Memphis), only failing to reach the end zone when his snap count was reduced in the win over FCS opponent Wofford that was never in doubt.

For his career, the Powder Springs, Georgia, native is the nation's active leader with 1,873 receiving yards. He is a three-time All-SEC selection and a 2014 All-American and John Mackey Award semifinalist.

Engram is also active in the community, displaying a particular heart for those with mental and physical handicaps. He has been actively involved with Special Olympics Mississippi, the North Mississippi Regional Center and the Scott Center in Oxford. He is a two-time nominee for the Allstate AFCA Good Works Team and a member of the 2015 SEC Community Service Team.

The award recipient is selected by vote of the John Mackey Award Selection Committee and the 2016 John Mackey recipient will be announced on December 7, 2016 and then presented live on December 8, 2016 at The Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Show on ESPNU. Other key dates include the announcement of the 2016 Mackey semifinalists on November 14, 2016 and the 2016 Mackey finalists on November 22, 2016. All future announcements can be found at www.johnmackeyaward.com.

NFL Hall of Fame member John Mackey is considered to be the best to have played the tight end position.  A tight end by whom all others are measured, Mackey was a role model on and off the field as demonstrated by his Super Bowl Championship, his commitment to community and his place in history as the first President of the NFLPA.

The John Mackey Award presented since 2000, recognizes 14 alumni that have played in the NFL: two-time Super Bowl Champion Daniel Graham (`01), 2006 Super Bowl Champion Dallas Clark (`02), Kellen Winslow II (`03), two-time Super Bowl Champion Heath Miller (`04), Marcedes Lewis (`05) of the Jacksonville Jaguars, 2008 Super Bowl Champion Matt Spaeth (`06) of the of the Pittsburgh Steelers, Fred Davis (`07), Chase Coffman (`08), D.J. Williams (`10),  Dwayne Allen ('11) of the Indianapolis Colts, Tyler Eifert ('12)  of the Cincinnati Bengals, Austin Seferian-Jenkins ('13) of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers, Nick O'Leary ('14) of the Buffalo Bills and 2015 John Mackey Award recipient Hunter Henry of the San Diego Chargers.

The John Mackey Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 22 awards boast over 722 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit www.NCFAA.org to learn more.

The Friends of John Mackey are responsible for the administration of the John Mackey Award & the John Mackey Award Selection Committee. Please visit http://www.johnmackeyaward.com to check out the new and improved website for all John Mackey Award related information.

Follow Ole Miss Football on Twitter (@OleMissFB), Facebook and Instagram. For more information, visit www.OleMissSports.com.






  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago