Archie Manning to be Saluted at Ole Miss-Auburn Game
Oct. 26, 2016

OXFORD, Miss. - Ole Miss Athletics and the National Football Foundation (NFF) & College Hall of Fame announced today that NFF Chairman and College Football Hall of Fame quarterback Archie Manning will be honored with an NFF On-Campus Salute as the 2016 recipient of the NFF Gold Medal. The presentation will take place this Saturday at Vaught-Hemingway Stadium during the game between the Rebels and Auburn, which starts at 6:15 p.m. CT (SEC Network).

In June, the NFF named Manning the 2016 recipient of the Gold Medal, the organization's highest and most prestigious award. The Gold Medal recognizes an outstanding American who has demonstrated integrity and honesty; achieved significant career success; and has reflected the basic values of those who have excelled in amateur sport, particularly football. First presented to President Dwight D. Eisenhower at the NFF Annual Awards Dinner in 1958, the Gold Medal boasts an impressive list of past recipients, including seven presidents, four generals, three admirals, one Supreme Court Justice and 29 corporate CEOs and chairmen.

"Archie Manning became an icon as one of the greatest players to ever set foot on the gridiron, and he subsequently used his standing to become one of the game's greatest ambassadors," said NFF President & CEO Steve Hatchell. "The entire football community has been blessed by his enormous contributions, and we take great pride in having him as our chairman. He has earned this honor many times over, and we are extremely proud to add his name to the esteemed list of past NFF Gold Medal recipients and honor him at Vaught-Hemingway Stadium."

The NFF On-Campus Salutes are a special tradition, providing the NFF honorees a coveted opportunity to be recognized on the field during a home game. Many past honorees cite the experience as the ultimate capstone to their careers, providing them a special memory of hearing the crowd roar their appreciation of their accomplishments. In addition to his On-Campus Salute, Manning will officially be honored during the 59th NFF Annual Awards Dinner Dec. 6 at the Waldorf Astoria in New York City.

An All-America quarterback at Ole Miss, a Pro Bowl player with the New Orleans Saints and a College Football Hall of Fame inductee, Manning charted a successful post-football career, including roles as an investment broker, broadcaster, restaurateur, endorser, community leader and philanthropist. He added the NFF to his list of many charities, joining the NFF Board of Directors in 1993. He served with distinction before becoming NFF Chairman in 2007 and the leader of a nationwide network of 120 chapters in 47 states with more than 12,000 members.

During his tenure as chairman, the NFF has experienced remarkable growth, and his leadership played a critical role in the recent opening of the state-of-the-art $68.5 million College Football Hall of Fame in the heart of Atlanta. He also oversaw the launch of the NFF Leadership Hall of Fame, which has helped raise and distribute millions of dollars for the NFF scholarships, programs and initiatives. Currently, the organization distributes more than $1.3 million each year and recognizes thousands of student-athletes for their accomplishments on and off the field. Click here for Manning's complete biography.

"There are a lot of good things and people because of football, and we recognize them," said Manning in a promotional video for the organization. "I am especially proud of the fact that we recognize the scholar-athlete, and we reward kids starting in high school with our chapter program, distributing scholarships to those who do a great job of balancing football time with their academic requirements. We honor those kids, and they're the ones who turn out to be great leaders and people in our society. It's just gratifying to be part of something that does something great for young people."

At the 59th NFF Annual Awards Dinner on Dec. 6 in New York City, Manning will be honored alongside the recipients of the other NFF Major Awards. The event also provides the stage for the induction of the 2016 College Football Hall of Fame Class; the presentation of the 2016 NFF National Scholar-Athlete Awards, presented by Fidelity Investments; and the bestowing of the 27th NFF William V. Campbell Trophy, presented by Fidelity Investments, to the nation's top scholar-athlete.

The other 2016 NFF Major Award winners include Chancellor of the University of Texas System and retired U.S. Navy four-star admiral William H. McRaven (NFF Distinguished American Award), College Football Hall of Fame coach and AFCA Executive Director Emeritus Grant Teaff (NFF Outstanding Contribution to Amateur Football Award), U.S. Naval Academy Athletics Director Chet Gladchuk (NFF John L. Toner Award for excellence in athletics administration) and the Voice of the Washington Huskies Bob Rondeau (NFF Chris Schenkel Award for excellence in broadcasting).

This year's College Football Hall of Fame Class includes: Marlin Briscoe (Nebraska Omaha), Derrick Brooks (Florida State), Tom Cousineau (Ohio State), Randall Cunningham (UNLV), Troy Davis (Iowa State), William Fuller (North Carolina), Bert Jones (LSU), Tim Krumrie (Wisconsin), Pat McInally (Harvard), Herb Orvis (Colorado), Bill Royce (Ashland [Ohio]), Mike Utley (Washington State), Scott Woerner (Georgia), Rod Woodson (Purdue) and coaches Bill Bowes (New Hampshire) and Frank Girardi (Lycoming [Pa.]).

The 2016 NFF National Scholar-Athlete Class, presented by Fidelity Investments, will be announced Nov. 1, and the winner of the Campbell Trophy will be announced live in dramatic fashion at the Dec. 6 event. For information on the Dinner, please contact Will Rudd at or by calling 972-556-1000.

Follow Ole Miss Football on Twitter (@OleMissFB), Facebook and Instagram. For more information, visit

About The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame:

Founded in 1947 with early leadership from General Douglas MacArthur, legendary Army coach Earl "Red" Blaik and immortal journalist Grantland Rice, The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame is a non-profit educational organization that runs programs designed to use the power of amateur football in developing scholarship, citizenship and athletic achievement in young people. With 120 chapters and 12,000 members nationwide, NFF programs include, the College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta, The William V. Campbell Trophy presented by Fidelity Investments, annual scholarships of more than $1.3 million and a series of initiatives to honor the legends of the past and inspire the leaders of the future. NFF corporate partners include Delta Air Lines, Fidelity Investments, Herff Jones, Hofmann Brands, New York Athletic Club, Pasadena Tournament of Roses, PrimeSport, the Sports Business Journal, Under Armour and VICIS. Learn more at






  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago