Brown Named Biletnikoff Award Semifinalist
Nov. 13, 2017

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. -- Ole Miss wide receiver A.J. Brown is one of 10 semifinalists for the 2017 Biletnikoff Award, the Tallahassee Quarterback Club (TQC) Foundation, Inc., announced Monday morning.

The Biletnikoff Award annually recognizes the season's outstanding receiver in college football. Any player who catches a pass, regardless of position, is eligible for the award.

Brown, a sophomore from Starkville, Mississippi, leads the SEC and ranks seventh nationally in receiving yards per game (101.5) and is tops in the SEC in touchdowns (9). Brown's 1,015 receiving yards currently ranks third all-time in a single season for an Ole Miss receiver, just 138 yards behind 2015 Biletnikoff Award finalist Laquon Treadwell's mark of 1,153 yards set in 2015.

Brown is coming off a 14-catch, 185-yard and two TD performance against Louisiana. His 14 receptions tied an Ole Miss single-game record.

Brown's five 100-yard receiving games this season ranks second in the single-season record books for 100-yard games, just one shy of Laquon Treadwell's 2015 mark of six. Brown currently ranks seventh on the single-season record charts in receptions (62).

Earlier in the year, the Starkville, Mississippi, native hauled in eight receptions for 233 yards and two scores vs. South Alabama, breaking Eddie Small's Ole Miss record of 210 receiving yards set versus Vanderbilt in 1993. Brown's total of 233 yards also tied Pharoh Cooper of South Carolina for the 13th most receiving yards in a game in SEC history. His two TD catches of 71 and 77 yards also marked the first time in school history a receiver posted two 70-plus yard touchdowns in the same game.

Follow Ole Miss Football on Twitter (@OleMissFB), Facebook and Instagram in addition to






  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago