Evan Engram Announced as C Spire Conerly Trophy Finalist
Evan Engram has been a team captain for every game the last two years.
Nov. 22, 2016

VOTE: Engram for Conerly Trophy

OXFORD, Miss. – Ole Miss tight end Evan Engram is a finalist for the 2016 C Spire Conerly Trophy, presented annually to the most outstanding college football player in Mississippi.

The award will be presented to one of the 10 finalists next week. The nominees represent each of the 10 football-playing universities and colleges in the state and have been chosen by their athletic departments.

The winner of the annual C Spire Conerly Trophy is selected by a statewide media panel vote with a fan vote conducted by C Spire accounting for 10 percent of the overall vote. To vote for your favorite player via social media or text message, visit www.csopavoting.com beginning at 8:30 a.m. on November 22 until noon on Sunday, November 27.

Engram is the nation’s leading tight end with 84.2 receiving yards per game, which tops all Southeastern Conference players of any position. He ranks second nationally among tight ends with 5.9 catches per game and eight touchdowns. The Powder Springs, Georgia, native holds Ole Miss records for most catches, yards and touchdowns in a season and a career by a tight end. He is the nation’s active leader among tight ends with 2,320 career receiving yards.

In 2016, Engram has racked up 65 catches for 926 yards and eight TDs. Another strong outing or two could make him the third player in school history to go over 1,000 receiving yards in a season, joining wide receivers Laquon Treadwell (1,153 in 2015) and Shay Hodge (1,135 in 2009). Engram has four games with 100 or more yards and has scored a touchdown in eight of 11 outings this year.

Other finalists are Alcorn State LB Darien Anderson, Belhaven QB Hunter McEachern, Delta State RB Chris Robinson, Jackson State DE/LB Javancy Jones, Millsaps DL Alex Foust, Mississippi College WR/KR Marcel Newson, Mississippi State WR Fred Ross, Mississippi Valley State QB Austin Bray and Southern Miss RB Ito Smith.

Past Ole Miss winners of the award, which is named for Ole Miss legendary quarterback Charlie Conerly, include Stewart Patridge (1997), Deuce McAllister (1999), Eli Manning (2001, 2003), Patrick Willis (2006) and Bo Wallace (2012).

This year the C Spire Conerly Trophy will be presented at the Clarksdale Country Club in Clarksdale, Mississippi, on Tuesday, November 29.  A reception begins at 5:30 p.m. with the program beginning at 6:30. Tickets are available online at www.msfame.com or at the Hall of Fame offices. For a list of previous C Spire Conerly winners, visit www.msfame.com/events.

Follow Ole Miss Football on Twitter (@OleMissFB), Facebook and Instagram. For more information, visit www.OleMissSports.com.






  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago