Fahn Cooper Wins Kent Hull Trophy
Nov. 26, 2015

JACKSON, Miss. -- Ole Miss offensive tackle Fahn Cooper has been named the winner of the 2015 Kent Hull Trophy as the most outstanding college offensive lineman in Mississippi, the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame and Museum announced Thanksgiving afternoon.

Cooper will accept the award at the C Spire Conerly Trophy banquet Dec. 1 at the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame and Museum. He becomes the second straight offensive tackle from Ole Miss to receive the honor. Fellow Rebel Laremy Tunsil claimed the Hull Trophy last season.

"I am honored to receive this award but it's a tribute to my teammates around me and my coaches," said Cooper.

"Fahn has been one of the most consistent players on our team this year. He is an extremely tough lineman whose flexibility has been key to our offensive success," Ole Miss head coach Hugh Freeze said. "He is extremely valuable and one of our best leaders both on and off the field."

Cooper has proven to be a vital piece of the Rebel offensive line this season, starting all 11 games for the highest-scoring offense in Ole Miss history. The Crystal Lake, Illinois, native started the first seven games at left tackle in place of Tunsil before moving back to his normal spot at right tackle. While filling in for Tunsil, Cooper earned SEC Offensive Lineman of the Week honors, Sept. 28.

"The unique thing about Fahn is just how unselfish he's been," said Ole Miss offensive line coach Matt Luke. "We moved him over to left tackle when we were without Laremy and he didn't miss a beat. Laremy comes back and Fahn moves back over to the right tackle and doesn't complain. He just goes out and makes us better. He has really become a leader this season and has graded well consistently."



As one of the veterans on the line, Cooper has helped Ole Miss lead the SEC in scoring (40.5 ppg) and total offense (518.0 ypg). He has paved the way for 175.5 rushing yards per game to go along with and an SEC-best 342.5 yards per game through the air, providing a clean pocket for quarterback Chad Kelly.

"We had Fahn at left tackle and three redshirt freshmen starting in the offensive line when we beat Alabama," Luke continued. "That says something about Fahn right there."

Over the last two seasons, Cooper has started all 24 games. He has made 15 starts at right tackle as well as nine at left tackle since arriving at Ole Miss.

The trophy is named in honor of the late Kent Hull, the former Mississippi State great who went on to play in four Super Bowls for the Buffalo Bills. Mississippi State's Gabe Jackson, now with the Oakland Raiders, won the inaugural Hull Trophy.

The Kent Hull Trophy winner is selected by a panel including former college coaches, former NFL coaches and scouts and former college players.

Very limited seating remains for the C Spire Conerly Trophy Banquet. Call 601-982-8264 to order tickets.

Follow Ole Miss Football on Twitter (@OleMissFB) and Facebook (Facebook.com/OleMissFootball), in addition to www.OleMissSports.com.




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago