Javon Patterson Named to SEC Community Service Team
Nov. 28, 2017

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. -- The Southeastern Conference has named Ole Miss' Javon Patterson to its 2017 Football Community Service Team, the conference announced Tuesday afternoon.

The SEC names a Community Service Team for each of its 21-league sponsored sports, looking to highlight an athlete from each school who gives back to his community through superior service efforts.

Patterson, a junior from Petal, Mississippi, is a member of the NCAA DI Football Recruiting Ad Hoc Working Group and was a 2017 nominee for the Wuerffel Trophy, as well as the Allstate AFCA Good Works Team.

The three-year starter has volunteered his time with the Special Olympics, including the 2015 and 2016 Unified Egg Bowl events, which pit Special Olympics athletes from Ole Miss and Mississippi State against each other for a flag football game to raise funds for those programs at both schools. He visits students at both Oxford and Lafayette Elementary twice a semester to share his student-athlete experience and personal story.

Other volunteer pursuits for Patterson include participating in Reading Across America Day, as well as assisting with the yearly Ole Miss Athletics Adodt-A-Basket initiative during Thanksgiving. Patterson also has visited with patients at Batson Children's Hospital in Jackson, Mississippi.

2017 SEC Football Community Service Team
Minkah Fitzpatrick, Alabama
Frank Ragnow, Arkansas
Daniel Carlson, Auburn
Johnny Townsend, Florida
Aaron Davis, Georgia
Jacob Hyde, Kentucky
John David Moore, LSU
Javon Patterson, Ole Miss
Gabe Myles, Mississippi State
Anthony Hines, Missouri
Spencer Eason-Riddle, South Carolina
Kyle Phillips, Tennessee
Koda Martin, Texas A&M
Tommy Openshaw, Vanderbilt

Follow Ole Miss Football on Twitter (@OleMissFB), Facebook and Instagram in addition to www.OleMissSports.com.






  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago