Former Ole Miss Standout Herrod Selected to Alabama Sports HOF
Dec. 7, 2016

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – Former Ole Miss gridiron standout Jeff Herrod has been selected as a member of the Alabama Sports Hall of Fame class of 2017, the Hall of Fame’s board of directors announced Wednesday.

Herrod, a Birmingham native, led the Rebels in tackles three of his four years as a starter. He still holds the single-game record for tackles (28) and the single-season mark for tackles (168) in Ole Miss history. He is also the all-time leader in tackles at Ole Miss with 528 and the second all-time leading tackler in SEC history. He was a first team All-SEC pick by the league coaches in 1986 and a second-team AP pick in both 1986 and 1987. He also garnered third team All-America honors. Following his senior season, he was defensive captain in the 1988 Senior Bowl and Defensive MVP of the Blue-Gray Game.

Herrod played 11 years in the NFL, 10 with the Indianapolis Colts and one with the Philadelphia Eagles. He led the Colts in tackles for seven seasons and finished as the franchise’s all-time leader in tackles with 1,347. His 200 tackles in a season was the most until 2012. He was named Defensive Player of Year three times (1989, 1990 and 1992), and the Colts named him their MVP in 1991. In 1998 he received the NFL prestigious Ed Block Courage Award from the Colts for overcoming adversity on and off the field. In 1993 he was selected as a member of the Ole Miss Team of the Century. He was inducted into the Ole Miss Athletics Hall of Fame in 2001 and chosen as an SEC Football Legend in 2013.

Other class of 2017 inductees are Auburn basketball player Lee DeFore, Alabama football coach Ken Donahue, Alabama athletic trainer and administrator Jim Goostree, Jacksonville State baseball player Todd Jones, Auburn football player Takeo Spikes, Alabama football player Kevin Turner and Auburn football player Carnell Williams.

The accounting firm of PricewaterhouseCoopers tabulated the votes by the statewide selection committees.

The 49th Induction Banquet and Ceremony will take place in the Birmingham Ballroom, at the Sheraton Birmingham Hotel, on Saturday, May 13, 2017.  For more information please contact the Alabama Sports Hall of Fame Museum at 205-323-6665.

Follow Ole Miss Football on Twitter (@OleMissFB), Facebook and Instagram. For more information, visit






  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago